Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Beta Testers Wanted
Page 9 of 26 | |||||
Author | Message | ||||
viscomjim Guru Joined: 08/01/2014 Location: United StatesPosts: 925 |
Is there any status update on MMEdit specifically for uMite? Thanks! |
||||
elproducts Senior Member Joined: 19/06/2011 Location: United StatesPosts: 282 |
Looks like I'm the one being beta tested (and I'm finding bugs). Thanks Geoff. www.elproducts.com |
||||
vasi Guru Joined: 23/03/2007 Location: RomaniaPosts: 1697 |
Akash, thanks for the link! It may solve my problem, but we need an official solution for our community and only Microchip can solve that. Vasi P.S. Yep, the serial bootloader compile under 3Kb - as I expected. We really need the AN1388 adapted to compile with MPIDE compiler, with proper ld scripts (this may be a faster Microchip solution but again, we need also to compile Maximite and Micromite sources). Hobbit name: Togo Toadfoot of Frogmorton Elvish name: Mablung Miriel Beyound Arduino Lang |
||||
Bryan1 Guru Joined: 22/02/2006 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1345 |
Well over 35K round trip to see if the caps had turned up and nope, so a day over 1 WEEK and jaycar can't get a package sent WHAT A F'ing JOKE if it can take 9 days for a package to come from Asia and yet 8 days and still no package for over priced caps ( $1.95 each) and $7 postage. This black duck WILL never buy off those losers EVER AGAIN. O'well waited to get the chips so the wait goes on One peeved off Bryan |
||||
bigmik Guru Joined: 20/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 2914 |
Gday Bryan, An excuse for a few more `sherbets' in your `cave' while you wait? I know what you mean about price, I bought mine from element14 (not arrived yet) because I was ordering a couple of PIC32MX150's and their price was were $2.16 + GST each (for the Caps NOT the Pic32)... but free post.. You can get a 10V Low ESR 47uF from Rockby.com.au for 60c ea.. I assume the 10V shouldnt be an issue (6Volt is quoted).. See this image Regards, Mick EDIT** Hard to read the JPG (due to the back shed's) compression ... The Stock code is 39027 Mik Mick's uMite Stuff can be found >>> HERE (Kindly hosted by Dontronics) <<< |
||||
Bryan1 Guru Joined: 22/02/2006 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1345 |
Hi Mick, Yea hindsight is a wonderful thing and after looking in the post box I did remember the one and only time I ordered off rockbys. 3 days for delivery and it may of been 2 as I didn't check the post box the previous day. On the bright side I did find an air pump so I can age my homebrew moonshine that much quicker so I guess that is my only high point for the day. Cheers Bryan |
||||
MOBI Guru Joined: 02/12/2012 Location: AustraliaPosts: 819 |
Question on the Pic32 Vcap value. The uMite PDF indicates 47uF but the specific Pic32 data sheet shows 10uF typical which is what I used on my breakout board version of the MM and it works ok. Does it really matter? David M. |
||||
TassyJim Guru Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6103 |
I only received the parts for my uMite Monday. I have started playing and planning the changes needed to MMedit. I used Jaycar 47uF tantalum and a LM1117T regulator with a couple of 10uF on input and output. I added a couple of 0.01 uF caps just in case... In the photo, it's happily running a BMP085 I2C pressure module. I have been editing in MMEdit2 (not the version I released) and transferring to the uMite OK. I tried 2 different USB to TTL modules and one of them had the Tx and Rx lines back to front. That was the first one I tried of course. MMEdit 2 will have the choice of 2 different serial ports and an option to look for unsupported commands/functions so you can check the code before uploading. I think there will also be a 'click and set' panel for things like CPU speed and AUTORUN. I think I can make a couple of changes to the original MMEdit to make it useable with the uMite and that should be fairly soon. If you find you are missing the FORMAT$ command, this is what I cam up with: function uFormat$(x,p)
' given a number (x) and the required number of decimal places (p) ' returns formatted string. Negative and zero p is permitted local x1, f$ f$=str$(cint(x*10^p)) if p>0 then uFormat$=left$(f$,len(f$)-p)+"."+right$(f$,p) elseif p = 0 then uFormat$=f$ else uFormat$=f$+string$(abs(p),"0") endif end function A question for Geoff. Is there an easy way to determine the current CPU speed? I would like to display an Information panel in MMEdit. Jim VK7JH MMedit MMBasic Help |
||||
Grogster Admin Group Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 9310 |
Speaking only from my own experience, I would think it is not THAT mission critical, or Microchip would have said as much. I imagine that is is a case of it having to be tantalum or ceramic type(not a cheap aluminium electro) for stability. As to the 6v rating, I don't think that is too mission critical for the same reasons, although there is a relationship between capacitance value and the voltage you are running them at. I seem to remember reading somewhere about the fact that running 63v caps on less then 10v is a BAD idea - something about the capacitance only being correct at roughly the capacitor's working voltage or something. With the 47uF one, I will be using a 16v tantalum in my tests shortly(just because that is what I have handy today), but if push came to shove, I would elect to buy 6v caps, then as the supply voltage is 3v3, this would be within a cat's whisker of the rated voltage of the cap, and so should keep the cap happy. Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops! |
||||
TassyJim Guru Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6103 |
I have uploaded an update to MMEdit which give some support for the uMite. I had trouble with some serial ports. Did not work with: Silicon Labs CP210x USB to UART Bridge Works OK with: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port Thats on Windows 7 64 bit. To use MM Edit with the uMite, Create code as normal (The command highlighting does not recognise the new commands) Open the 'Chat' window. Set it to MicroMite using the right hand unlabeled button. The adjacent button resets it to Maximite. The Window title will indicate Maximite or MicroMite. Use 'Load' to upload your program. Setting the clock etc should all work as normal. Don't try and use the File manager. Jim VK7JH MMedit MMBasic Help |
||||
JohnS Guru Joined: 18/11/2011 Location: United KingdomPosts: 3819 |
I'm lost as to why? Geoff says the space is already in use. There isn't 3K free. Also, the Mchp AN1388 doesn't fit in 3K. The ld scripts are irrelevant I think but just edit to make them how you want them. John |
||||
MicroBlocks Guru Joined: 12/05/2012 Location: ThailandPosts: 2209 |
The link in my post about someone who made a bootloader for the chipkit32 seems to get it into a 3Kb boot flash memory. Having a bootloader is pretty convenient for updates. You could then even do it remote or send it to someone who has one of your projects. If the target audience for the chip is those who buy the 'virgin' chip and program it with a pickit or similar then i understand the reason for not using the boot flash memory, but then why the need for a full screen editor. Already you need a pc to program the firmware so using an editor and upload it with a terminal seem trivial for those kind of users. If the target is to make embedded controllers accessible and easy to program for many people including the less experienced then i think how PICAXE does it is a good example. Buy a kit that has a chip on it with a bootloader, plug in a USB/serial cable and get started. Tough decisions. Microblocks. Build with logic. |
||||
JohnS Guru Joined: 18/11/2011 Location: United KingdomPosts: 3819 |
That's the non-USB one, right? There still isn't 3K free. What are you going to delete that Geoff hasn't? John |
||||
robert.rozee Guru Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 2350 |
it seems fair to say that the code may shrink as optimizations are made over time. or functionality may be shifted from raw code into basic-coded extensions that are hidden from the user. but the problem still remains of how a novice can get from buying a blank 32mx150 that costs $5 to having micromite up and running, without needing to invest in a pickit3 that costs $30 or more. the cost of the pickit3 seems disproportionate to the $5 cost of the 32mx150 and the ideal of a cheap and accessible platform. how about this idea: if someone were to write an arduino sketch, load it onto an arduino mini or nano, then use that as a dedicated 32mx150 programmer? the mini costs less than $5 (delivered) on ebay, the nano less than $10. how difficult would it be to fit a programmer into the available 32k of flash on the on the '328? remembering that it only needs to target the one pic specific, not the whole device family. rob :-) |
||||
elproducts Senior Member Joined: 19/06/2011 Location: United StatesPosts: 282 |
Isn't this what we have? We're in beta/development stage right now but soon the chip could easily be available from various sources with the firmware already installed. Then all you need is a MicroMite chip, plug in a USB/Serial adapter or cable and launch a VT100 Terminal (using MicroMite Editor) or MMEDIT to get started. This is just like PICAXE except the chips won't cost $10+ for a $3 PIC and $20+ for a USB/serial cable. And if you don't like the price of the preprogrammed MicroMite chips then for a $30-$40 investment you could buy a programmer and build your own chips. Now that is something PICAXE doesn't offer! www.elproducts.com |
||||
JohnS Guru Joined: 18/11/2011 Location: United KingdomPosts: 3819 |
Well, you can hope!! I only partly agree in that $30 isn't a lot to be able to then program a lot of chips. I don't know if it can be done - never read up on doing it - but sounds like any chip that's cheap that can actually do it would be good. Maybe someone already made something like this? Is this the kind of device that (with software) could do it? AVR programmer Could a 'mite do it? Would avoid having an Arduino device which does seem a weird thing to need in this situation. I bought a PICkit3 clone ages ago to avoid such worries or gymnastics. I got a JTAG device on a similar basis so I could program all manner of chips (mainly ARM ones in practice). Again, cheap (been used a lot more, too). John |
||||
vasi Guru Joined: 23/03/2007 Location: RomaniaPosts: 1697 |
|
||||
JohnS Guru Joined: 18/11/2011 Location: United KingdomPosts: 3819 |
I'm just requoting that Geoff said there is not 3K available so the bootloader is a bit of a problem if it won't fit as he says it won't. There's not much trouble building one's own pic32 C compiler instead of crippled xc32 if you want that - just follow what others already posted on the net. I'm not sure what MPIDE is adding once someone uses a non-crippled C compiler. May as well use your favourite editor and bypass MPIDE entirely. As it happens there are people doing that, such as Pinguino project but you can do it directly once you have the toolchain and use such as pic32prog. BTW, using the existing toolchains the code from AN1388 builds and can be used, right? I don't see why to use MPIDE as it's just reducing what was already easy and works. John |
||||
JohnS Guru Joined: 18/11/2011 Location: United KingdomPosts: 3819 |
In case someone feels inclined there's this DIY simplified pickit2 clone John |
||||
vasi Guru Joined: 23/03/2007 Location: RomaniaPosts: 1697 |
I'm using MPIDE compiler from inside MPLAB-X IDE and a lot of projects compiling with C32 and XC32 are not working here. Just try it for yourself. BTW, why I have the impression that you are hunting something? Hobbit name: Togo Toadfoot of Frogmorton Elvish name: Mablung Miriel Beyound Arduino Lang |
||||
Page 9 of 26 |
Print this page |