Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Firmware Wish List
Page 8 of 14 | |||||
Author | Message | ||||
Dinosaur Guru Joined: 12/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 311 |
Hi all After reading this whole thread, I conclude that you can have all the features requested by converting to an existing compiler such as FreeBasic. I don't know what the "Life" of this product (Maximite) is, but you will get more and more requests for features and changes. By the time it matures and something new takes over, someone has spent a lot of time converting, adding features and thus getting closer and closer to an existing compiler. I raised a question on the FB forum where it was suggested that compiling with the -gen gcc option converts the program to a C source code, which can then be compiled with the pic32 compiler.See the result hereFreeBasic Form Thread The great advantage is that it is open source, can be used with -lang qb to compile QuicBasic code.It is unfortunate the the FB C emitter is in it's infancy, otherwise I could have immediatly converted old programs to run on the Maximite. As Don said in earlier posts, this is intended to create discussion, and not an informed conclusion on what is possible. Regards EDIT: Just doing a quick check, and found BCX is a Basic to C / C++ converter, but still trying to understand if the pic32 compiler handles Ansi C code. Regards Hervey Bay Qld. |
||||
aargee Senior Member Joined: 21/08/2008 Location: AustraliaPosts: 255 |
OK, two things for the wishlist... #1. A toggle command, which toggles the output state of a pin. i.e. if the pin is low it goes high and vice versa. Syntax could be Toggle P, where P is the pin number. A useful adjunct to this could be Toggle P,N where the pin P is toggled and held for N milliseconds, before toggling back. i.e. output a pulse. #2. This wish may be already in the list, but if it has, it has been listed as Auto renumber which doesn't appear to be the same thing. An Auto command. When you type Auto, it starts off automatically numbering lines as you enter them. Maybe the same syntax as Renumber. i.e. Auto 100,10 will start at line 100 and increment by 10 every time you hit enter. To cancel, hit enter twice without inputting anything. Thanks Geoff, for looking! - Rob. patiently waiting for serial support as well. For crying out loud, all I wanted to do was flash this blasted LED. |
||||
BobDevries Senior Member Joined: 08/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 266 |
Rob, Surely you can very easily write code to do your TOGGLE command? Try this: IF PIN(x) = 0 THEN PIN(x) = 1 ELSE PIN(x) = 0 HTH Regards, Bob Devries Dalby, QLD, Australia |
||||
aargee Senior Member Joined: 21/08/2008 Location: AustraliaPosts: 255 |
That's true, Bob. But a toggle command would be a lot neater and clearer. I'm more after the adjunct as well - an active high or low pulse ability!! It would be nice to be able to issue a command to go and fire off a 100mS pulse and the program could continue on. - Rob. For crying out loud, all I wanted to do was flash this blasted LED. |
||||
seco61 Senior Member Joined: 15/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 205 |
Be aware that this will only work if the pin is defined as an open collector output - else the pin value can not be read and you will have to keep track of the pin state yourself. But those commands do look simple to implement - maybe tonight..... Regards Gerard (vk3cg/vk3grs) |
||||
donmck Guru Joined: 09/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1313 |
Have added both to the wish list: http://www.themaximitecomputer.com/wish-list-priority-level- poll/ Hopefully, I have clarified the difference in the wish list between Auto renumber and Auto input. Cheers Don... https://www.dontronics.com |
||||
James_From_Canb Senior Member Joined: 19/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 265 |
Or if you don't care what state the pin is in when you toggle it, Pin(x) = NOT Pin(x) James My mind is aglow with whirling, transient nodes of thought careening through a cosmic vapor of invention. Hedley Lamarr, Blazing Saddles (1974) |
||||
jman Guru Joined: 12/06/2011 Location: New ZealandPosts: 711 |
Hi All I would like to see support for the 1wire devices Maybe something like this (This is how PicBasic does it) OWIn Pin, Mode, [Item{, Item...}] OWOut Pin, Mode, [Item{, Item...}] O Commands optionally send a reset pulse to the one-wire device and then reads or writes one or more bits or bytes of data from it, optionally ending with another reset pulse. Mode specifies whether a reset is sent before and/or after the operation and the size of the data items, either bit or byte. OWOut Pin, Mode, [Item{, Item...}] Mode bit number Effect 0 0 send reset pulse before data 1 1 send reset pulse after data 2 0 byte-sized data, 1 = bit-sized data Regards John |
||||
donmck Guru Joined: 09/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1313 |
Thanks John, have added it: http://www.themaximitecomputer.com/wish-list-priority-level- poll/ Cheers Don... https://www.dontronics.com |
||||
boss Senior Member Joined: 19/08/2011 Location: CanadaPosts: 268 |
Hello from Canada, my board (EV- btw. great work Don) had arrived a few days ago. It took me couple of days to arrange the box, connectors, then after a bit of testing, I upgraded FW from 2.4 to latest 2.5B and immediately experinced issues with SD. Otherwiswe the board runs like a charm. I saw the long wishlist and said "poor Geoff" to myself but most wishes are logical. I personaly have no particular wish right now, but I would like to reccomend either to make a synonym or replace the statement SETPIN pin,cfg, line with ONINT pin, cfg, line. It should increase the readability of the code significantly shouldn't it? |
||||
bigmik Guru Joined: 20/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 2914 |
but I would like to reccomend either to make a synonym or replace the statement SETPIN pin,cfg, line with ONINT pin, cfg, line. It should increase the readability of the code significantly shouldn't it? Hi Boss, Sorry but in my opinion, as out of touch as that might be, ONINT would make no sense to me... I have never heard of that command and it would make the code less readable, to me anyway, than SETPIN..At least SETPIN tells me the pin is being setup.. ONINT tells me.. errr what does it tell me?? Regards, Mick PS, Have fun with your EV. Mick's uMite Stuff can be found >>> HERE (Kindly hosted by Dontronics) <<< |
||||
boss Senior Member Joined: 19/08/2011 Location: CanadaPosts: 268 |
Hi Mick, this statement is coming from ATMEL BASCOM a INTEL Basic-52, see : http://avrhelp.mcselec.com/index.html and what it tells to me - where interrupt service is located, pin has no exclusivity to handle with interrupt, a cpu core mantains the interrupts and there exist many interrupts with no realation to particular pin. Should we have a different statement for such interrupt service? And I suggest to make a synomym --> everyone can use form he likes more. And it is really not important. It was just suugestion. Some poeple like me who came from DEC , ATMEL and INTEL world may appreciated it. But other maybe not. With Regards Bo |
||||
donmck Guru Joined: 09/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1313 |
Hi Boss, glad the EV is working out for you, and the list of compatible SD cards can be seen at: http://www.themaximitecomputer.com/maximite-control/ Re the addition to the wish list. More than happy to add anything members want added. If others feel strongly about the wish being added, they have the opportunity to vote on it. Biggest problem for me is wording the text into a single wish line. Have a look at the current wishes at: http://www.themaximitecomputer.com/wish-list-priority-level- poll/ Cheers Don... https://www.dontronics.com |
||||
boss Senior Member Joined: 19/08/2011 Location: CanadaPosts: 268 |
Hi Don, The problem with SD seems to be in FW. Under 2.4 everything was working fine. I spent most of the weekend with testing and there was no problem at all. After upgrading to 2.5B my SD said it was corrupted. But W7 and Lion were fine with it. After SD was "killdisked", the card was fine again. BASIC was reading and writing on it but only until I disconnected the power. When the power was on again, the card said OK but "files" didn't report any file. For testing purposes on Lion I removed the card and reinserted again and BINGO--the card was working fine again. The card is 4gb SUNDISK. The 1GB SUNDISK behaves the same way. Any Idea? Regards Bo |
||||
donmck Guru Joined: 09/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1313 |
The problem with SD seems to be in FW. Under 2.4 everything was working fine. I spent most of the weekend with testing and there was no problem at all. After upgrading to 2.5B my SD said it was corrupted. But W7 and Lion were fine with it. After SD was "killdisked", the card was fine again. BASIC was reading and writing on it but only until I disconnected the power. When the power was on again, the card said OK but "files" didn't report any file. For testing purposes on Lion I removed the card and reinserted again and BINGO--the card was working fine again. The card is 4gb SUNDISK. The 1GB SUNDISK behaves the same way. Any Idea? Regards Bo Bo, Have you read the bottom of: http://www.themaximitecomputer.com/maximite-control/ I found a weakly powered hub gave a problem with the SD card. Cheers Don... https://www.dontronics.com |
||||
bigmik Guru Joined: 20/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 2914 |
this statement is coming from ATMEL BASCOM a INTEL Basic-52, see : http://avrhelp.mcselec.com/index.html and what it tells to me - where interrupt service is located, Gday Bo, Ok I see where that came from, I personally have only experience with TRS-80 basic and a couple of PC basics (Power Basic my favourite). Of course these dont support either of these commands as they werent designed to toggle pins etc but were for a PC application.. In our use the Maximite is much more in that we can do real things and use it as a micro CONTROLLER which means new commands need to be formed and I can now see the validity of your suggestion... initially ONINT didnt stick out to me (it looked more like the sound a pig makes) but now it breaks down to OnInt-errupt, it is making sense to me,.. Please excuse me it was just after 6am and I was looking forward (not!!) to another 58km trip through traffic jams (average time to travel is 1.5hrs). Regards, Mick PS I like your `light Bulb' Avatar Mick's uMite Stuff can be found >>> HERE (Kindly hosted by Dontronics) <<< |
||||
boss Senior Member Joined: 19/08/2011 Location: CanadaPosts: 268 |
Hello Mick, that's OK, I'm oldtimer even older than you and I spent my best years with 16bit PDP-11 and PDP (czech an russian) clone computers- then 32 bit VAX VMS and finaly 64ALPHA. All 16 bit OS and SW were specially designed for real time control ( and even very very fast processes). So everythig was controlled by INTerrupt and I have statement INT respective ONINTx burned in my brain. Unfortunatelly I am not a programmer, BASIC, PASCAL and ASSEMBLER are the right tools for me. I like MAXIMITE project but it depends on community members colaboration. If I can compare the MAXIMITE and an OLDies HW configuration isvery similar to PDP11/04 (except DK11 - disk cartridge - with 2.5MB capacity-wow!!!!!). Regards Bo |
||||
haiqu Senior Member Joined: 30/07/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 152 |
Bo, I used to repair those removable cartridge HDDs for a living, and Shugart 8" floppy drives. Those were the days. My proudest achievement was restoring a Wang 1200 series word processor (wirecore memory, cassette decks and running an IBM Golfball typewriter as I/O). Beautiful machine. Hey, here's a laugh ... the 2.11BSD I just ported has code support still included for 1980's tape drives! Rob unzip, strip, touch, finger, grep, mount, fsck, more, yes, fsck, fsck, fsck, umount, sleep |
||||
Bob Regular Member Joined: 11/08/2011 Location: United KingdomPosts: 41 |
Here's another wish; PWM Outputs: At present we have all manner of logic I/O, I2C, etc but there is no way to get ANALOGUE OUTPUT or control of items without adding relatively expensive DACs, e.g. I2C chips. My wish-list item is for the 2 PWM channels that appear on unconnected pins to be used for PWM output (Output Compare 1, pin 46, and Output Compare 4, pin 51). The other 2 are on pins that are already committed. It is not difficult to add connections to the unconnected pins for this purpose, if one wishes to use PWM - if not, don't bother <g>. By having the "raw" digital PWM output, we could use an averager (RC) to obtain an analogue signal, or directly drive an output stage (e.g. a motor driver). OK, the analogue produced would have the 3.3v supply as reference, but this is how the analogue input channels work anyway, so is just as OK. Bob Bob Dalley http://www.m0rjd.co.uk |
||||
seco61 Senior Member Joined: 15/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 205 |
At present we have all manner of logic I/O, I2C, etc but there is no way to get ANALOGUE OUTPUT or control of items without adding relatively expensive DACs, e.g. I2C chips. My wish-list item is for the 2 PWM channels that appear on unconnected pins to be used for PWM output (Output Compare 1, pin 46, and Output Compare 4, pin 51). The other 2 are on pins that are already committed. It is not difficult to add connections to the unconnected pins for this purpose, if one wishes to use PWM - if not, don't bother <g>. By having the "raw" digital PWM output, we could use an averager (RC) to obtain an analogue signal, or directly drive an output stage (e.g. a motor driver). OK, the analogue produced would have the 3.3v supply as reference, but this is how the analogue input channels work anyway, so is just as OK. Bob Hi Bob. The firmware I posted in this thread has this support - I have passed it along to Geoff for consideration. Be aware that as Timer 3 is in use, I only have Timer 2 available as a source for the 2 PWM outputs - so they both run at the same frequency. Of course the duty cycle can be different for both. Regards Gerard (vk3cg/vk3grs) |
||||
Page 8 of 14 |
Print this page |