Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : MMBasic: Knightmare Game
Page 7 of 10 | |||||
Author | Message | ||||
LeoNicolas Guru Joined: 07/10/2020 Location: CanadaPosts: 479 |
Thank you for testing the game. Of course while I'm adding new features I'm also breaking existing ones The stage 4 is not finished yet. I think the problem of crossing the river without a brige is becase I din't set that tiles as solid. It will be fixed when I finish the level 4 develpment. Let me know if you see the same problem on levels 1,2 and 3 Edited 2024-02-24 09:05 by LeoNicolas |
||||
Turbo46 Guru Joined: 24/12/2017 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1611 |
That's the way it normally works. Another crash. I have not been able to replicate the sprite like artefacts yet. Noticed that the arrows that those other knight things are firing are pointing the wrong way now, I don't think they were before. MMBasic reporting that it has seen the controller is annoying because you have to restart the game. I'll report that to Peter in the other post. Maybe an MM.INFO flag may be better? Bill Keep safe. Live long and prosper. |
||||
Turbo46 Guru Joined: 24/12/2017 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1611 |
I have seen the artefacts a few times but the action is too fast for me to notice how it happens. The skeletons, when shot, don't scroll with the screen. Is that right? I've finished for the day, my fingers have fallen off. Example of the arrows pointing the wrong way: Bill Keep safe. Live long and prosper. |
||||
LeoNicolas Guru Joined: 07/10/2020 Location: CanadaPosts: 479 |
I fixed the knight arrows' direction. The skeletons, when shot, don't scroll. This is the original game behaviour. I'm still investigating the artifacts issue. |
||||
LeoNicolas Guru Joined: 07/10/2020 Location: CanadaPosts: 479 |
Hello everyone New video released: https://youtu.be/OcjvFrNt5Hg News: - Stage 4 - Support for gamepads - Bug fixes |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4221 |
Very nice… You are really good at this (or you are cheating) Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
Turbo46 Guru Joined: 24/12/2017 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1611 |
Yes, you are bloody good, I think you might have played the game before. I find it hard to get to the later stages because I sometimes get caught by the scenery and cause a crash where normally I would die. A cheat to allow you to start at a chosen level would be handy. Bill Keep safe. Live long and prosper. |
||||
LeoNicolas Guru Joined: 07/10/2020 Location: CanadaPosts: 479 |
Bill Add this code to line 27 in the km.bas file. g_stage%=4 ' Stage number g_player(3)=11 ' Best weapon g_player(6)=20 ' Shield |
||||
homa Guru Joined: 05/11/2021 Location: GermanyPosts: 351 |
Hi Leo, Just a quick question, is there a PicoMite VGA version planned or is it even technically possible? Matthias |
||||
LeoNicolas Guru Joined: 07/10/2020 Location: CanadaPosts: 479 |
Yes. I bought a PicoMite VGA exactly for this purpose. I will adapt the game to the Pico as soon as I complete the game development. |
||||
homa Guru Joined: 05/11/2021 Location: GermanyPosts: 351 |
Wow, that sounds great. I'm really looking forward to it. |
||||
LeoNicolas Guru Joined: 07/10/2020 Location: CanadaPosts: 479 |
Stage five is coming |
||||
Martin H. Guru Joined: 04/06/2022 Location: GermanyPosts: 1113 |
I know you didn't ask... But if you want to realize the game for the Pico you have here the graphics in suitable PicoMite VGA RGB 121 format Knight_pico.zip 'no comment |
||||
LeoNicolas Guru Joined: 07/10/2020 Location: CanadaPosts: 479 |
Thank you Martin Probably I will ask you in a near future to convert them again, because I'm still adding new tiles or adjusting the existing ones. Today I pushed the stage 5 to the repo. I didn't have time to record the gameplay video. I think I can do it until Sunday. |
||||
LeoNicolas Guru Joined: 07/10/2020 Location: CanadaPosts: 479 |
Stage 5 gameplay there is a bug in the final boss implementation that I will fix today. It is not allowing to the defeat it. https://youtu.be/in6Or0CSGJE Edited 2024-03-11 20:09 by LeoNicolas |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4221 |
Hi Leo, I tried the KnightMare github version on a real CMM2, and it complains about a gamepad. What CMM2 software are you running. My CMM2 came with the stock V5.07.01 from Geoff's website (the last official release I guess). I have a keyboard, mouse attached, and have a WII controller available. Is this the set you need to play the game ? I would very much like to play it. IS there any description what buttons do what ? Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
Turbo46 Guru Joined: 24/12/2017 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1611 |
Leo is developing the game on MMB4W and will get it working on the CMM2 later. You can use the arrow keys to move and the space bar to fire. If you have an xbox controller you can use that too. Bill Keep safe. Live long and prosper. |
||||
LeoNicolas Guru Joined: 07/10/2020 Location: CanadaPosts: 479 |
As Bill explained, it much easier to develop the game on MMB4W then in the real machine. I will get it working on the CMM2 and the PicoVGA after completing the development. Sorry for the lack of news these two last weeks, I'm super busy on my daily work. |
||||
homa Guru Joined: 05/11/2021 Location: GermanyPosts: 351 |
hello LeoNicolas, I tried out your game again. Status today from github. Because of error messages I had to comment out line 25 in init.inc for the specified MMBasic version: ' gamepad on handle_gamepad and in the file "km.bas" in line 157 directly after the sub process_gamepad() insert an "exit sub" Today the keyboard control worked but unfortunately no collision. So unfortunately you are invulnerable. Nevertheless the gameplay is fun! However, I received the following error message for the final boss: continued success! Matthias |
||||
LeoNicolas Guru Joined: 07/10/2020 Location: CanadaPosts: 479 |
Hello Matthias Thank you for testing the game. You need to download the latest MMB4W version to get support for gamepads. Check out this post: https://www.thebackshed.com/forum/ViewTopic.php?FID=16&TID=16531 I didn't implement the player collision against shots and enemies because it makes the game easier to test. I will try to do it for the next version and add a flag to disable the collision. I will look at the error you reported. Sometimes, I introduce errors in the early stages when implementing new ones. This error is probably related to some update I did while implementing the stage 5 boss. |
||||
Page 7 of 10 |
Print this page |