Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Beta Testers Wanted
Page 23 of 26 | |||||
Author | Message | ||||
Frank N. Furter Guru Joined: 28/05/2012 Location: GermanyPosts: 831 |
Hi TZAdvantage, yes, the behaviour of the PWM statment within a loop was expected. Geoff wrote of a typically execution time of 23,000 lines per second. But I don't reflected that this means typically ca. 43,5µs for one line!!! I have 6 lines in ca. 360µs => ca. 60 µs per line - that seems ok for the MM-Interpreter! Frank |
||||
Geoffg Guru Joined: 06/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 3196 |
Wow, so much action. Thanks folks. Thanks CircuitGizmos, Mick and paceman for the manual updates. Mick and TassyJim, thanks, you have found another bug. I was trying to be smart and used the chip's internal ID to detect if it had USB and therefore throw an error if the program tried to use the USB only pins. Unfortunately I got the ID numbers mixed up and the firmware thinks that 150 chip has USB This means that it will also throw an error on pin 23. I don't know what went wrong in testing... it must have been a bad hair day!!! I should really stop trying to polish the firmware. Every time I do I add another bug. This release has more than its fair share of bugs so I plan to wait a couple of days to see if more issues surface and then put out beta 6 with all the fixes. Frank, I don't know what made you think that the PWM command needs to be in a loop. It doesn't. As TZ pointed out, once you set the PWM running it will continue forever in the background, solid as a rock (until the program issues a PWM STOP command). Geoff Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net |
||||
Frank N. Furter Guru Joined: 28/05/2012 Location: GermanyPosts: 831 |
@Geoff: Hi Geoff, I was inobservant. My aim was to change the actual PWM within a loop. I don't reflected that I may only set the PWM command when the dutycycle has really changed! (...but that was clear!) My actual code works very well: Option BREAK 3 Do For zaehler=0 To 100 Step 5 PWM 1,500,zaehler Pause 200 Next zaehler For zaehler=100 To 0 Step -5 PWM 1,500,zaehler Pause 200 Next zaehler Loop Frank |
||||
JohnL Senior Member Joined: 10/01/2014 Location: SeychellesPosts: 128 |
Is &H7FFFFF (about 2 and 3/4 bytes) the largest HEX constant with full accuracy down to last bit that is supported in MMBasic, I could not find any info in documentation? Maximum Integers are 16777100 (without loss of accuracy) = &Hffff8C. This appears to be accurate only to 2^2 bit for AND operations with HEX constants. Bits 2^1 and 2^0 return 0. What is the maximum number of bits for Binary constant, haven't tested binary ? &H7FFFFF appears to be the largest HEX constant that can be used in AND function. &H7FFFFF AND &H1 returns 1. &H800001 AND &H1 returns 0. Appears to be the same in Maximite and Micromite. |
||||
Geoffg Guru Joined: 06/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 3196 |
Sorry John, I have not characterised every function in that area to the limits. All numbers get converted to a float (even of they are a constant integer) and it is the inherent inaccuracy of the conversion that limits the operations that you are looking at. Geoff Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net |
||||
paceman Guru Joined: 07/10/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1329 |
Hi Phil, I'm setting myself up now to (hopefully) be able to make good resolution boards using pre-coated boards and UV exposure. What system do you use for your home boards? Greg |
||||
JohnL Senior Member Joined: 10/01/2014 Location: SeychellesPosts: 128 |
Thanks Geoff. My problem with above HEX constant limitation is related to converting 4 bytes of data to IEEE 32 bit float number. I can do the conversion by hand and I was trying to develop an algorithm that simulates hand conversion process. This involves concentrating 4 bytes (32bits) of data and perform various logical and shift operations. I can get it to work to a point with 2 bytes (16 bits) Integers. But it doesn't work with 32 bits due to MMBasics float conversion accuracy as Geoff has pointed out. I could possibly try to manipulate the conversion using strings, but need to think about it? Does anyone have a solution or ideas to convert 4 bytes of data to float value, bytes are in the IEEE32 bit float format, by using MMBasic? For Example &H43 FF 80 00 = 511 decimal. |
||||
Geoffg Guru Joined: 06/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 3196 |
In the Maximite versions there is the NUM2BYTE command and its reverse function (they are documented in Appendix B). The bad news is that I had to take them out of the Micromite version to save on flash memory. Geoff Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net |
||||
JohnL Senior Member Joined: 10/01/2014 Location: SeychellesPosts: 128 |
That's Great, I am doing a Modbus RTU Serial network with Maximite as a Master. So I can use Maximite Master to read and do the 4 byte to float conversion using BYTE2NUM function. Will play with that tomorrow. Thanks Geoff. |
||||
WhiteWizzard Guru Joined: 05/04/2013 Location: United KingdomPosts: 2817 |
Hi Greg, I have been using the PulsarProFx's "DirectETCH" system for about the last three years. Effectively a heat transfer method. Very quick, and cheap, for producing prototypes or low volume. Consistently gives good results down to at least 0.5mm pitch spacing. Once design is confirmed working ok, I then send to a PCB house for volume, if required. I built several TFT MaxiMites each incorporating the 40 pin FPC connector - this system worked 100% every time. For more info check out the following link: http://www.coolcomponents.co.uk/prototyping/pcb-fabrication This is the supplier I use in the UK as they are local to me. The product range is also available from Mouser so is readily available to ship globally. Regards, Phil For everything Micromite visit micromite.org Direct Email: whitewizzard@micromite.o |
||||
paceman Guru Joined: 07/10/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1329 |
Thanks Phil, I've already got their TT paper and TRF foils and was originally going to use them. I modded a laminator to use (a la Ultrakeet) but the Lowell LOOL280 model recommended by Ultrakeet and supplied by OfficeWorks over here is now different and doesn't work. It doesn't have the same spring loaded rolls and 1.6mm boards jam up. I'll keep the Pulsar gear in mind as a backup though. Greg |
||||
Grogster Admin Group Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 9308 |
@ WhiteWizzard(and anyone else who can answer this for me) - How do you ensure layer registration doing double-sided boards like this at home? If you are not EXACTLY right, tracks and pads etc top and bottom won't line up. This is basically why I don't ever try DS boards at home - I always get the PCB house to make the prototype. Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops! |
||||
paceman Guru Joined: 07/10/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1329 |
We're getting off Geoff's topic here a bit Grogs - my fault probably. These PCB posts would be better in your thread Pete's oiled pcb's. Maybe Glenn could move them? Greg |
||||
Grogster Admin Group Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 9308 |
Agreed - my fault too. If Glenn could do the honours?.... Still, with a thread of THIRTY EIGHT PAGES, it has not deviated that much from the topic, which is nice and surprising at the same time. Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops! |
||||
WhiteWizzard Guru Joined: 05/04/2013 Location: United KingdomPosts: 2817 |
I also agree so started a new post regarding creating this module: MicroMite 44 Pin TQFP Eval PCB/Module For everything Micromite visit micromite.org Direct Email: whitewizzard@micromite.o |
||||
TinkersALot Regular Member Joined: 20/11/2012 Location: United StatesPosts: 72 |
parts FINALLY arrived from Microchip.....gads what a long delay that is. Hope to get to play along now. |
||||
plasma Guru Joined: 08/04/2012 Location: GermanyPosts: 437 |
any news for this great thread ? i promise a friend to send him a micromite for testing i2c , so i ask . |
||||
Geoffg Guru Joined: 06/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 3196 |
Beta 5 went out about a week ago and beta 6 is due out later this week. Geoff Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net |
||||
plasma Guru Joined: 08/04/2012 Location: GermanyPosts: 437 |
cant wait ! thx for the Info Geoff. |
||||
atmega8 Guru Joined: 19/11/2013 Location: GermanyPosts: 722 |
longest week of my life ;-) |
||||
Page 23 of 26 |
Print this page |