Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 07:39 29 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Nokia 5110 LCD

     Page 2 of 4    
Author Message
palcal

Guru

Joined: 12/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1873
Posted: 05:35pm 23 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Jman, Yes that is exactly what I want. I have been playing around with the FastLCD program but I don't have my screens yet so can't test.
Paul.
"It is better to be ignorant and ask a stupid question than to be plain Stupid and not ask at all"
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9308
Posted: 05:48pm 23 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

FastLCD does not work for me.
Error - Comdlg32.ocx or one of it's dependencies not correctly registered. A file is missing or corrupt.
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
jman

Guru

Joined: 12/06/2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 711
Posted: 06:04pm 23 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Grogster said   FastLCD does not work for me.
Error - Comdlg32.ocx or one of it's dependencies not correctly registered. A file is missing or corrupt.

Here is the bit you are missing2014-02-24_040140_Comdlg32.zip

If you using a 64bit Operating system place the file in
C:\windows\SysWow64

If 32bit place the file in c:\windows\system32

Then run the below from an elevated command prompt
regsvr32 c:\Windows\SysWOW64\comdlg32.ocx

Or
regsvr32 c:\Windows\System32\comdlg32.ocx

Regards
Jman
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9308
Posted: 07:42pm 23 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks, jman - all working.

EDIT: Not terribly user-friendly, unfortunately.
Right clicking anywhere erases part of what you are doing, clicking the TEXT button just keeps putting FastAVR on the layout, but how do you edit that? Left or right clicking does not work. Zoom in works, but then you can't zoom back out again.

Oh well, I suppose if you are careful, this tool is still better then nothing at all.Edited by Grogster 2014-02-25
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
WhiteWizzard
Guru

Joined: 05/04/2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2817
Posted: 08:11pm 23 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Can anyone confirm if the four backlight LEDs on the 5110 actually show as bright 'spots' (i.e. uneven backlight as appearing in each picture in this post) - or is it more evenly backlit (and the photos not doing it true justice)

Thanks for any replies!
For everything Micromite visit micromite.org

Direct Email: whitewizzard@micromite.o
 
Frank N. Furter
Guru

Joined: 28/05/2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 831
Posted: 08:54pm 23 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi WhiteWizzard,

the backlight is really very uneven on the 5110 but you can modify it!
There are only 4 LEDs (without resistor) on the PCB. There is enough space between PCB and LCD to assemble any diffusor (or to use other LEDs or a electroluminescence-foil).
It is very easy to dissasemble the LCD from the PCB for modifying it...

Frank
 
jman

Guru

Joined: 12/06/2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 711
Posted: 10:31pm 23 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Ok I modified the code a little so now it does this




The attached code contains 3 files.
BigThermo.bas standard version
BigThermoEE.bas This version reads the fonts from a 24c32 EEprom
WriteEE.bas this will write the fonts to a 24c32 EEprom

The EEprom version will dimension the Font array to the correct size
saved in the EEprom (Last 2 address's are used for this)

Hope this helps

Jman

2014-02-24_082907_NokiaLCD.zip
 
MOBI
Guru

Joined: 02/12/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 819
Posted: 11:02pm 23 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@Jman

That's a nice looking unit. It doesn't look too much different to a "standard" LCD except that it is graphic based instead of character.

I wonder if we should have a go at making a i2c (or SPI)driver for it (not that it uses too many I/o pins. (or has that already been done?) I did a serial graphics driver for a much bigger display some years ago, I'll dig it out.

On the surface, it looks like it will fit into the 14 pin soic PIC16F1503 16x2 LCD I did for TZA recently.

David M.
 
palcal

Guru

Joined: 12/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1873
Posted: 11:34pm 23 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@ WhiteWizzard
I would assume that the case of the phone covered the area that is the problem
Maybe Jman can confirm this
Paul
"It is better to be ignorant and ask a stupid question than to be plain Stupid and not ask at all"
 
MOBI
Guru

Joined: 02/12/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 819
Posted: 01:17am 24 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Nah!

I had a look on ebay and there are lots of similar i2c displays. I won't waste my time unless I get really bored some time.
David M.
 
palcal

Guru

Joined: 12/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1873
Posted: 02:35pm 24 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@Grogster
  Quote  EDIT: Not terribly user-friendly, unfortunately.
Right clicking anywhere erases part of what you are doing, clicking the TEXT button just keeps putting FastAVR on the layout, but how do you edit that? Left or right clicking does not work. Zoom in works, but then you can't zoom back out again.

Took me a while to figure out. Right click on the text box and you can change the text and font size. So no need to make characters pixel by pixel.
Paul
"It is better to be ignorant and ask a stupid question than to be plain Stupid and not ask at all"
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9308
Posted: 02:39pm 24 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Ahhhh - I see. Thanks.
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
Justplayin

Guru

Joined: 31/01/2014
Location: United States
Posts: 326
Posted: 02:42pm 24 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post




This thread took off just about the same time I got my 5110's working. With the help of a the Liberty BASIC conforum users I was able to scan and and convert Windows fonts into font files I could use. If I get the Liberty BASIC program smoothed out, I'll post it here for others.

When i finish my little project, I hope to have a Speedometer that shows direction of travel on one display, along with altitude, in vehicle and outside temperatures on the other.

Thanks Jman! Your posts on the 3110 really helped move this little project along.

--Curtis
I am not a Mad Scientist...  It makes me happy inventing new ways to take over the world!!
 
jman

Guru

Joined: 12/06/2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 711
Posted: 08:40am 25 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Curtis

  Justplayin said  
I was able to scan and and convert Windows fonts into font files I could use.


Thanks Jman! Your posts on the 3110 really helped move this little project along.

--Curtis


If you could share your Liberty Basic App to scan fonts that would be FANTASTIC
And you are more than welcome. I like the use of two screens well done

Regards
Jman

 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9308
Posted: 11:28am 25 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

...i wish my LCD's would arrive....
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
paceman
Guru

Joined: 07/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1329
Posted: 06:29pm 25 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Justplayin said  
When i finish my little project, I hope to have a Speedometer that shows direction of travel on one display, along with altitude, in vehicle and outside temperatures on the other. --Curtis

Hi Curtis, you mention displaying altitude, are you doing that with data from a BMP085 transducer?

GregEdited by paceman 2014-02-27
 
Justplayin

Guru

Joined: 31/01/2014
Location: United States
Posts: 326
Posted: 10:52am 26 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  paceman said  ..., are you doing that with data from a BMP085 transducer?


I'm keeping this really simple... The GPS module provides speed, direction and altitude data in an easy to read/use format and I'll use a couple of 18B20's for reading the temperature. I'm not looking for super accurate readings as far as the altitude goes, I just thought it would be interesting information to look at while driving cross country.


Although, I did recently purchase a BMP085 for my next project of building a weather station... but I'm not ready to start on that yet.

--Curtis
I am not a Mad Scientist...  It makes me happy inventing new ways to take over the world!!
 
paceman
Guru

Joined: 07/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1329
Posted: 01:32pm 26 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

OK, I was wondering if there was much interest out there in setting up specific commands for it using the uMite because I'd suggested it to Geoff for his 'wish list'.

Greg
 
jman

Guru

Joined: 12/06/2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 711
Posted: 01:37pm 26 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi
Have you seen this
http://www.thebackshed.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=4768&KW =bmp
BMP Sensor

Regards
JmanEdited by jman 2014-02-27
 
paceman
Guru

Joined: 07/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1329
Posted: 02:02pm 26 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi John,

I did remember it but also remembered 'it' was pretty complex - the 'it' being both using I2C (at the time for me) and the altitude maths. Andy and Bob's info on that thread was very interesting.

Getting the BMP085 raw readings simply via I2C (a la Geoff's other 'specials' commands) is what I was mostly interested in and thought would be a candidate for any other 'specials' Geoff decided to do.

Greg
 
     Page 2 of 4    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2024