Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Nokia 5110 LCD
Page 2 of 4 | |||||
Author | Message | ||||
palcal Guru Joined: 12/10/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1873 |
Jman, Yes that is exactly what I want. I have been playing around with the FastLCD program but I don't have my screens yet so can't test. Paul. "It is better to be ignorant and ask a stupid question than to be plain Stupid and not ask at all" |
||||
Grogster Admin Group Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 9308 |
FastLCD does not work for me. Error - Comdlg32.ocx or one of it's dependencies not correctly registered. A file is missing or corrupt. Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops! |
||||
jman Guru Joined: 12/06/2011 Location: New ZealandPosts: 711 |
Here is the bit you are missing2014-02-24_040140_Comdlg32.zip If you using a 64bit Operating system place the file in C:\windows\SysWow64 If 32bit place the file in c:\windows\system32 Then run the below from an elevated command prompt regsvr32 c:\Windows\SysWOW64\comdlg32.ocx Or regsvr32 c:\Windows\System32\comdlg32.ocx Regards Jman |
||||
Grogster Admin Group Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 9308 |
Thanks, jman - all working. EDIT: Not terribly user-friendly, unfortunately. Right clicking anywhere erases part of what you are doing, clicking the TEXT button just keeps putting FastAVR on the layout, but how do you edit that? Left or right clicking does not work. Zoom in works, but then you can't zoom back out again. Oh well, I suppose if you are careful, this tool is still better then nothing at all. Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops! |
||||
WhiteWizzard Guru Joined: 05/04/2013 Location: United KingdomPosts: 2817 |
Can anyone confirm if the four backlight LEDs on the 5110 actually show as bright 'spots' (i.e. uneven backlight as appearing in each picture in this post) - or is it more evenly backlit (and the photos not doing it true justice) Thanks for any replies! For everything Micromite visit micromite.org Direct Email: whitewizzard@micromite.o |
||||
Frank N. Furter Guru Joined: 28/05/2012 Location: GermanyPosts: 831 |
Hi WhiteWizzard, the backlight is really very uneven on the 5110 but you can modify it! There are only 4 LEDs (without resistor) on the PCB. There is enough space between PCB and LCD to assemble any diffusor (or to use other LEDs or a electroluminescence-foil). It is very easy to dissasemble the LCD from the PCB for modifying it... Frank |
||||
jman Guru Joined: 12/06/2011 Location: New ZealandPosts: 711 |
Ok I modified the code a little so now it does this The attached code contains 3 files. BigThermo.bas standard version BigThermoEE.bas This version reads the fonts from a 24c32 EEprom WriteEE.bas this will write the fonts to a 24c32 EEprom The EEprom version will dimension the Font array to the correct size saved in the EEprom (Last 2 address's are used for this) Hope this helps Jman 2014-02-24_082907_NokiaLCD.zip |
||||
MOBI Guru Joined: 02/12/2012 Location: AustraliaPosts: 819 |
@Jman That's a nice looking unit. It doesn't look too much different to a "standard" LCD except that it is graphic based instead of character. I wonder if we should have a go at making a i2c (or SPI)driver for it (not that it uses too many I/o pins. (or has that already been done?) I did a serial graphics driver for a much bigger display some years ago, I'll dig it out. On the surface, it looks like it will fit into the 14 pin soic PIC16F1503 16x2 LCD I did for TZA recently. David M. |
||||
palcal Guru Joined: 12/10/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1873 |
@ WhiteWizzard I would assume that the case of the phone covered the area that is the problem Maybe Jman can confirm this Paul "It is better to be ignorant and ask a stupid question than to be plain Stupid and not ask at all" |
||||
MOBI Guru Joined: 02/12/2012 Location: AustraliaPosts: 819 |
Nah! I had a look on ebay and there are lots of similar i2c displays. I won't waste my time unless I get really bored some time. David M. |
||||
palcal Guru Joined: 12/10/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1873 |
@Grogster Took me a while to figure out. Right click on the text box and you can change the text and font size. So no need to make characters pixel by pixel. Paul "It is better to be ignorant and ask a stupid question than to be plain Stupid and not ask at all" |
||||
Grogster Admin Group Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 9308 |
Ahhhh - I see. Thanks. Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops! |
||||
Justplayin Guru Joined: 31/01/2014 Location: United StatesPosts: 326 |
This thread took off just about the same time I got my 5110's working. With the help of a the Liberty BASIC conforum users I was able to scan and and convert Windows fonts into font files I could use. If I get the Liberty BASIC program smoothed out, I'll post it here for others. When i finish my little project, I hope to have a Speedometer that shows direction of travel on one display, along with altitude, in vehicle and outside temperatures on the other. Thanks Jman! Your posts on the 3110 really helped move this little project along. --Curtis I am not a Mad Scientist... It makes me happy inventing new ways to take over the world!! |
||||
jman Guru Joined: 12/06/2011 Location: New ZealandPosts: 711 |
Hi Curtis If you could share your Liberty Basic App to scan fonts that would be FANTASTIC And you are more than welcome. I like the use of two screens well done Regards Jman |
||||
Grogster Admin Group Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 9308 |
...i wish my LCD's would arrive.... Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops! |
||||
paceman Guru Joined: 07/10/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1329 |
Hi Curtis, you mention displaying altitude, are you doing that with data from a BMP085 transducer? Greg |
||||
Justplayin Guru Joined: 31/01/2014 Location: United StatesPosts: 326 |
I'm keeping this really simple... The GPS module provides speed, direction and altitude data in an easy to read/use format and I'll use a couple of 18B20's for reading the temperature. I'm not looking for super accurate readings as far as the altitude goes, I just thought it would be interesting information to look at while driving cross country. Although, I did recently purchase a BMP085 for my next project of building a weather station... but I'm not ready to start on that yet. --Curtis I am not a Mad Scientist... It makes me happy inventing new ways to take over the world!! |
||||
paceman Guru Joined: 07/10/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1329 |
OK, I was wondering if there was much interest out there in setting up specific commands for it using the uMite because I'd suggested it to Geoff for his 'wish list'. Greg |
||||
jman Guru Joined: 12/06/2011 Location: New ZealandPosts: 711 |
Hi Have you seen this http://www.thebackshed.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=4768&KW =bmp BMP Sensor Regards Jman |
||||
paceman Guru Joined: 07/10/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1329 |
Hi John, I did remember it but also remembered 'it' was pretty complex - the 'it' being both using I2C (at the time for me) and the altitude maths. Andy and Bob's info on that thread was very interesting. Getting the BMP085 raw readings simply via I2C (a la Geoff's other 'specials' commands) is what I was mostly interested in and thought would be a candidate for any other 'specials' Geoff decided to do. Greg |
||||
Page 2 of 4 |
Print this page |