Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 08:36 27 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : 16 colour CMM?

     Page 2 of 3    
Author Message
MicroBlocks

Guru

Joined: 12/05/2012
Location: Thailand
Posts: 2209
Posted: 09:28am 10 Feb 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I suspect the SPI is the only way to get the pixels out fast enough.
What maximum speed would DMA reach when moving data from memory to a port?


Microblocks. Build with logic.
 
Nick

Guru

Joined: 09/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 512
Posted: 10:23am 10 Feb 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

On the topic of memory and what would the real effect with the loss of another 6K would be...

On the CMM, my Donut Dilemma game gives the following when the MEMORY command is run.

17kb (21%) Program (844 line)
8kb (10%) 46 Variables
9kb (11%) General
48kb (58%) Free

Clearly, I can afford losing 6K to have 16 colour graphics.

With the inclusion of many of the new graphics commands, it has allowed code to take up less space.

How many other larger programs for the Maximite are there and what do they report?

Nick
 
plasma
Guru

Joined: 08/04/2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 437
Posted: 02:38pm 10 Feb 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi ,
What do you think about the videosystem from the uzebox ?
UZEBOX

also Vlsi have a cool new chip ?
1 Mbit Versatile SPI / 8-Bit Parallel Bus SRAM

??
mfg

 
Nick

Guru

Joined: 09/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 512
Posted: 02:57pm 10 Feb 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  plasma said   Hi ,
What do you think about the videosystem from the uzebox ?
UZEBOX

also Vlsi have a cool new chip ?
1 Mbit Versatile SPI / 8-Bit Parallel Bus SRAM

??
mfg



Wow. Impressive. And look at all that software (games of course).

I don't know C so programming it would be a learning curve, for me at least.

That's the beauty of the Maximite, easy to program in interpretive BASIC.

I can't emphasise the value of this feature alone.

NickEdited by Nick 2013-02-12
 
paceman
Guru

Joined: 07/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1329
Posted: 03:33pm 10 Feb 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  TZAdvantage said   I suspect the SPI is the only way to get the pixels out fast enough.
What maximum speed would DMA reach when moving data from memory to a port?

As I remember, Geoff said that the "framing" capability of the SPI outputs was crucial to getting the video timing right as well and that was fairly unique to the PIC chip.

Greg

 
plasma
Guru

Joined: 08/04/2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 437
Posted: 04:04pm 10 Feb 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

yap Nick its right , mmbasic is cool especially with this little chip ;)

but i mean uzebox generates 256 colors and have some videomodi, maybe its time to see how it works .
Also maybe the 1MBIT ram chip is usesless for the maximite ?
But maybe we can work with a second 32 bit pic . ( here a propeller "PC" with some cpu propeller hive )
Connected via spi for the videodata and sound or something ?
Maybe someone writes a mmbasic to c translator ? (ala BCX)
knowbody knows the future .



.

 
Juri74

Senior Member

Joined: 06/02/2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 162
Posted: 01:16am 19 Feb 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

this discussion let me think.. if a 480x432 plane does occupy about 26kb (mode 1)
why mode 4 occupies the same amount of memory? let me explain
mode 4 are 3 bitplanes of 240x216 pixels
a plane occupy about (240/8*216) 6.5 kb of memory
6.5 x 3(planes)= about 19.5kb... let's say 20kb.. where are gone the 6 more kb????
 
Geoffg

Guru

Joined: 06/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 3194
Posted: 10:59pm 19 Feb 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Juri,

Yes, you have put your finger on it. In MODE 4 there is a little over 6KB sitting idle and unused.

This is because a single video buffer of about 25KB is permanently allocated when MMBasic is started up and additional buffers are allocated when needed from general memory. The reason for this is to simplify memory management when switching between various display modes. Also, so long as one video buffer is always available, MMBasic will have somewhere to display error messages, etc.

In MODE 4 the memory requirement is about 6.5KB per colour so I fitted all three buffers into the permanent buffer leaving an additional 6.5KB unused (as you have noticed).

Geoff
Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net
 
Juri74

Senior Member

Joined: 06/02/2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 162
Posted: 11:53am 20 Feb 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

hi Geoff
oh great! so, are you sayng that if a 16 colours maximite using the sdcard spi and using the half bright trick will be done, that screen mode could occupy the same amount of memory of the mode 4, 8 colours screen mode? impressive...
 
Nick

Guru

Joined: 09/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 512
Posted: 12:12pm 20 Feb 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Well that solves the memory issue.

What additional circuitry is needed to implement the dual intensity control (16 "colours")?

Would this be feasible as an add-on, a Arduino expansion card or new CMM design?

Nick
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9308
Posted: 12:29pm 20 Feb 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Well, things have certainly motored along since the OP.
I thought 16 colour was well outside of what was possible on the current hardware platform, but now there is a glimmer of light at the end of the tunnel, that it may actually be a possibility with not much change in the circuit either, if I understand things correctly.

Assuming all the above, does the PIC32 have the speed to deal with another layer of VGA information? The accelerator pedal is pretty much on the floor now, is it not, going on another members post(I forget who/where, but I remember reading that).
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
isochronic
Guru

Joined: 21/01/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 689
Posted: 01:12pm 20 Feb 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post


There are quite a few projects using a QVGA / pic32
combination with impressive results, often using the
16-bit pmp. Google "pic32 qvga"



 
CircuitGizmos

Guru

Joined: 08/09/2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1425
Posted: 01:13pm 20 Feb 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

From what I understand access to the SD card then interrupts the video.

Personally I'm OK with 8 colors. I think creeping featurism will hurt acceptance of the product.
Micromites and Maximites! - Beginning Maximite
 
djuqa

Guru

Joined: 23/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 447
Posted: 01:21pm 20 Feb 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  CircuitGizmos said   creeping featurism

I love that term and you are totally correct.
First it was Colour, now 16 colours, what is next Full 32bit QVGA @ 2048x1680 Resolution, than 192 core nVidia GPU based addon.

Rremember guys, this is a small,simple low cost General purpose controller/educational board/software concept. We are not designing the next iPad or Windows laptop.

Plus if you have any specific applications requiring lots of colours/features/power small dedicated PC platform boards are available for very low cost.
Or as others have used/suggested, use some of those GRAPHIC oriented boards like the propellor or VGA addon oards.

The KISS (keep it smple stupid) methodology is best.

Edited by djuqa 2013-02-21
VK4MU MicroController Units

 
CircuitGizmos

Guru

Joined: 08/09/2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1425
Posted: 01:25pm 20 Feb 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  djuqa said  
First it was Colour, now 16 colours, what is next Full 32bit QVGA @ 2048x1680 Resolution, than 192 core nVidia GPU based addon.

Then you get:


> 10 Print "Hello World"

> 20 GOTO 10

Error! Out of memory!

>


Micromites and Maximites! - Beginning Maximite
 
djuqa

Guru

Joined: 23/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 447
Posted: 01:43pm 20 Feb 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Exactly!

If I need a lot of grunt/graphic power in small form factor
Intel makes a Micro-ITX board PC Platform board that is 17cm x 17cm square
with ETHERNET/SATA/ 8 USB/VGA/PS2/ 4ch AUDIO/Parallel/2 x RS232 ports and has a 1.8GHZ dual core processor
and supports upto 4gb RAM using std DDR3 Dual Channel SO-DIMM modules.
And costs under $100

Remember keep everything in perspective. What has been produced already is amazing.
Don't kill the golden goose by being greedy.
Don't be unhappy with what you have.
Be amazed that a small CHEAP board like the Maximite and clones can do so much ALREADY.
Plus MMBasic is already becoming a MAJOR development/support headache,so every EXTRA feature is potential New Bugmaker.Edited by djuqa 2013-02-21
VK4MU MicroController Units

 
Nick

Guru

Joined: 09/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 512
Posted: 03:25pm 20 Feb 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I agree. As it is, it's fine.

... but that extra 8 colours will make games look better!


Here is a 16 colour (RGBI) image taken from the graphics adventure game off the PC called "Kings Quest"...





And here is the same image in Maximite 8 Colours...





The question is, is 16 colours really worth the effort?


Nick
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9308
Posted: 05:21pm 20 Feb 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I said way back on the first few posts that I figured this was out of the capabilities of the CMM, and that I was perfectly happy with it the way it is, so hopefully you did not read too much into my last post.

I have said it once, and I will say it again - I am perfectly happy with 8 colours.
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
Nick

Guru

Joined: 09/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 512
Posted: 06:23pm 20 Feb 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Maybe 16 colours isn't enough of an enhancement?

Maybe it's better to take one of the Arduino shields that offer their own graphics chip with thousands of colours and higher resolution and create a set of libraries to access these?

I'm in agreement. 8 colours is plenty for the CMM as it is.

Nick
 
cosmic frog
Senior Member

Joined: 09/02/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 284
Posted: 01:42pm 21 Feb 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Does this make any sense to anyone?
 
     Page 2 of 3    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2024