Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Firmware Wish List
Page 2 of 14 | |||||
Author | Message | ||||
stuarts Senior Member Joined: 15/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 199 |
I am pretty sure from what I read, I dont have any notes here at work, that the video is done essentially using dma with no input from the processor. I think we'd need Geoff to confirm this though. Stuart Time is nature's way of keeping everything from happening all at once. |
||||
stuarts Senior Member Joined: 15/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 199 |
Captainbill, maybe in addition to some aspect ratio control of the circle command, it would be nice to have a system variable that can be set to match the maximite to the aspect ratio of the users screen so that a circle comes out round. Squares come out square. Then the aspect ratio for circles can make elipses, but everything else makes the pixels square on the screen. Stuart Time is nature's way of keeping everything from happening all at once. |
||||
Ray B Senior Member Joined: 16/02/2007 Location: AustraliaPosts: 219 |
Priority List.... Immediately after serial comms we need I2C comms so we can speak to a whole range of devices like RTC IC and better temperature sensors ala Picaxe Re wanting warm and fuzzy messages on bootup why not use the AUTORUN.BAS facility with a line like: 10 PRINT "Hello DON.... Your MaxiMite has just rebooted ....." RayB from Perth WA |
||||
donmck Guru Joined: 09/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1313 |
I think I have this set up correctly: Wish List Priority Level Poll: http://www.themaximitecomputer.com/wish-list-priority-level- poll/ You can vote on each answer in turn as many times as you wish, so you can vote on 6 items in the list if you wish to. The poll will sort the answers into priority level from highest to lowest. If you find any silly errors, or would like to add a wish, please let me know. Cheers Don... https://www.dontronics.com |
||||
VK6MRG Guru Joined: 08/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 347 |
What is with the CLS command poll? The Maximite already has this. Just wondering. Matt Its easier to ask forgiveness than to seek permission! ............VK6MRG.............VK3MGR............ |
||||
donmck Guru Joined: 09/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1313 |
Thanks for the feed back Matt, you are quite correct. Have sorted it. 73s Don... https://www.dontronics.com |
||||
captainbill Newbie Joined: 16/06/2011 Location: United StatesPosts: 37 |
Howdy How about a DEEPSLEEP() command which puts the chip into its lowest power mode. It would be awakened by an external interrupt or perhaps a RTC programmed interrupt. The wake mode can be selectable by a command argument. Bill Old school. Still interested. Head in the clouds. |
||||
stuarts Senior Member Joined: 15/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 199 |
I'd like to see a small change to the pin function. When a PIC I/O pin is put into Open Drain mode (ie: output), if you do a read of the pin, you will actually see the line level on the pin, not the state that the pic has set it at. With Open Drain mode an external device can pull the line low even if the PIC has set it high as setting it high is just allowing an internal pullup to pull it high. I just tried this and MMBasic wont let me read the pin as it says its not valid when the pin is set as an output. There are ways around this by using 2 pins, one as an output and one as an input and tying them together, but it's not as elegant as just being able to read the state of a pin whether it is a high or a low. I've used this functionality previously with PicBasic Pro to implement I2C in basic. I cant see that this change would be detrimental to any of the current I/O opin modes as it just allows a read to be done that couldn't be before. All other functionality should remain the same. Stuart Time is nature's way of keeping everything from happening all at once. |
||||
captainbill Newbie Joined: 16/06/2011 Location: United StatesPosts: 37 |
Howdy Regarding the prompt, how about a user modifiable system string variable of some maximum length to be used as the prompt? Roll your own. Bill Old school. Still interested. Head in the clouds. |
||||
donmck Guru Joined: 09/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1313 |
Bill's Deep Sleep() Low Power Mode Bill's Modifiable User Prompt. Stuart's Read Output Pin. All great suggestions. Now people are starting to really think about the practical side of programming Maximite. I'll add them all as Wishes. By the time you read this, they should be there: http://www.themaximitecomputer.com/wish-list-priority-level- poll/ Cheers Don... https://www.dontronics.com |
||||
sparkey Senior Member Joined: 15/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 819 |
how about being able to format the sd card from the maxi i am totally new to using sd cards ii a assume that i hve to have the maxi connected to my pc to format the card as i cannot /dont know wheather it comes pre formatted and to what "fat" technicians do it with least resistance |
||||
donmck Guru Joined: 09/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1313 |
That's a good one Sparkey. Added, and I just voted for it. http://www.themaximitecomputer.com/wish-list-priority-level- poll/ Cheers Don... https://www.dontronics.com |
||||
VK6MRG Guru Joined: 08/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 347 |
Hello chaps, Just regarding the Basic language control of activity LED, have a look at MORSE.BAS, when the program plays back the Morse version of your text, it flashes the green activity LED, PIN(0)=0 AND PIN(0)=1 I was able to make a small dumb program to flash this LED. Is this what you are referring to with the poll? Regards, Matthew Its easier to ask forgiveness than to seek permission! ............VK6MRG.............VK3MGR............ |
||||
BobDevries Senior Member Joined: 08/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 266 |
Matthew, the activity LED referred to is the (RED) LED which flashes when the SD card is accessed. Pin 0 is the POWER LED. Regards, Bob Devries Dalby, QLD, Australia |
||||
donmck Guru Joined: 09/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1313 |
Red Activity LED, PIN(21)=0 AND PIN(21)=1 is possibly what we are looking at. Cheers Don... https://www.dontronics.com |
||||
BobDevries Senior Member Joined: 08/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 266 |
Here's another wish list item COPY files1$ TO file2$ or COPY file$ TO dir$ In fact there are possibly more commands which are related to the storage device which would be useful. Direct (AKA Random) access file commands is another. Regards, PS, Don, I agree with your PIN(21)= for accessing the RED LED. Bob Devries Dalby, QLD, Australia |
||||
BobDevries Senior Member Joined: 08/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 266 |
Here's another one: At this time, the FILES command only works on the current directory. To see the contents of another directory, you need to do a CHDIR to that directory, and then use FILES. My suggestion is to allow FILES to access a sub-directory like this (for example): FILES "DIR1\*.*" to show the files in the sub-directory DIR Regards, Bob Devries Dalby, QLD, Australia |
||||
donmck Guru Joined: 09/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1313 |
Thanks for the input everyone, have added: Wish 18: Byte Wide Operations Using INP & OUT. Wish 19: COPY files1$ TO file2$ Wish 20: COPY file$ TO dir$ Wish 21: FILES "DIR1\*.*" http://www.themaximitecomputer.com/wish-list-priority-level- poll/ You may have to do a refresh, or a have fiddle to get the extras displayed. Usual stuff. Please let me know if I have missed anything. Cheers Don... https://www.dontronics.com |
||||
stuarts Senior Member Joined: 15/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 199 |
Hey Don, I think I must be getting old timers disease. I was sure that I submitted this as a feature update and even got a response from someone. I cant remember where I put it. I would like the see the CLS functionality extended to the USB terminal connection. Most modern serial terminals have a clear screen function. Most of the terminal emulators will emulate either vt100 or ANSI. If the CLS command issued the appropriate escape sequence to the USB COM port at the same time as it cleared the graphics screen, it would enable programs to be a little more consistent between the 2 display devices. Time is nature's way of keeping everything from happening all at once. |
||||
bigmik Guru Joined: 20/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 2914 |
Why limit it to CLS? Make Locate use appropriate esc codes too Mick Mick's uMite Stuff can be found >>> HERE (Kindly hosted by Dontronics) <<< |
||||
Page 2 of 14 |
Print this page |