Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : I got aome JDY-41 to play with...
Page 2 of 3 | |||||
Author | Message | ||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6761 |
Totally different. :) It can't connect to a router and it can't talk to BT. :) It can do something really cool though. When acting as a remote control receiver you can connect up to 8 LEDs (or opto couplers) to it and control them remotely. No CPU needed for that, it's built in. Acting as a remote control transmitter it can have 7 or 8 buttons and draws virtually nothing if no button is pressed. Once again, no CPU needed. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
Justplayin Guru Joined: 31/01/2014 Location: United StatesPosts: 326 |
I have wired up a proof of concept garage door monitor using a pair of modules in remote control mode. Worked just as planned EXCEPT for the range. Ordered some new modules with external antenna connectors and several types of antennas. I just need to get motivated and solder up a new set of breakout boards to test. 🥴 --Curtis I am not a Mad Scientist... It makes me happy inventing new ways to take over the world!! |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6761 |
The JDY-41 is supposed to have a longer range than the JDY-40. It will probably lose signal more sharply though as the ACK system supposedly prevents malformed messages. We can't legally use the external antenna version in the UK. We can't use any sort of antenna with gain in that band. On top of all that, we are also limited to 1/10 of the transmit power allowed in the US IIRC. We do get channel 13 though, which overlaps into military frequencies in the US so don't go there! (That's the band plan channel 13, not the JDY channel 13). Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
JohnS Guru Joined: 18/11/2011 Location: United KingdomPosts: 3797 |
Ooh, that DOES sound cool - thanks. John |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6761 |
The JDY-40 and JDY-41 are hardware compatible too. You can often test an idea using the JDY-40, which is relatively easy to configure, then swap it for a pre-configured JDY-41. The manuals are not the greatest though. They've tried, but there is essential info missing or things not properly explained. I think the JDY-41 one might be slightly better. If you are going to play with both then you need both manuals though. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
PhenixRising Guru Joined: 07/11/2023 Location: United KingdomPosts: 853 |
OK I'm sold but you need to quit dilly-dallying and get the comm's figured Man, aren't these just GREAT times? All we need to be is imagineers anymore. We can accomplish anything |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6761 |
I got it to talk to me! :) To get it to return the parameter string: Print #1, Chr$(&hAA); Chr$(&hE2) You don't need to add CRLF as that happens anyway when sending a string. Things are looking up. :) Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
PhenixRising Guru Joined: 07/11/2023 Location: United KingdomPosts: 853 |
Cool....I wonder how long these things will run on something like a CR123. |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6761 |
It depends on what you are doing. :) If it's a simple remote control transmitter Standby (no buttons pressed) = 10uA While transmitting = 40mA If it's a stand-alone remote control receiver Continuous Standby = 24mA (I think I've seen this measured as lower) However, if it's MCU controlled you could raise CS when it's not needed and drop the standby to 10uA, but you can't receive then, of course. As a transparent serial device it's always going to have a MCU so the power is largely irrelevant, I suppose. I'm guessing that the transmit current is based on max power output. However, the transmission mode is pulses no matter how you use it, I think, so it could be an average. You will almost certainly need some sort of cap on the supply rails, even if it's not very big. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
Pluto Guru Joined: 09/06/2017 Location: FinlandPosts: 357 |
@Mixtel Have you been able to set parameters on JDY-41? I have tried w/o success. I have managed to read the parameters and to reset. In my testing it seems that it is necessary to repeat the read instructions twice after each other (first a dummy read) before the data is received from JDY-41. Got the modules today. Only had a few hours to test. Pluto |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6761 |
The first instruction is ignored, you have to repeat it! It seems to be a bug! I've not tried setting stuff as I've been chasing down a strange problem in something else. I've managed to read a unit plugged into a breadboard and connected to my Gamma using Dupont jumpers. The socket in there is for a ESP8266-01S. I put bits of wire on 2 more and bent them to fit the socket, plugged them in and neither is recognised at all, although the original one on Duponts into the same socket still works... Same connections but shorter wires? More playing is needed. I suspect that the SET input is unhappy being driven from a GPIO pin for some reason. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
Pluto Guru Joined: 09/06/2017 Location: FinlandPosts: 357 |
I have my JDY-41 units connected directly to PicoMite via 10cm long dupont wires soldered to JDY-41. Both CS and SET are driven from GPIO (GP3 and GP4). When I try to change the wireless ID command (F1AE) with new ID-numbers the module responds with "+OK", but when reading the parameters (AAE2) the original parameters are still there. Writing also needs a dummy write first! Obviously something more is required in order to have the new parameters stored in the module. Reading the version nbr (ABCD) returns "+V6". All readings with a dummy read first. Normal Tx and Rx using the default parameters seems to be OK. At least for 10m thru 2 and 3 walls. Pluto |
||||
Pluto Guru Joined: 09/06/2017 Location: FinlandPosts: 357 |
I have now had time to further investigate the JDY-41 modules. Please find an experimental program for module parameter settings attached. JDY-41_INIT.zip The subroutines are a bit messy due to ongoing testing. Sometimes repeated commands are needed, but not always. This resulted in a strategy with first a "dummy" command and read before the final command and read. The documentation for the module (datasheet) is quite rudimental and partly difficult to interpret. Plenty of comments in the program. Partly borrowed from the datasheet. But the main thing is that I have got my modules programmed and tested. Perhaps you Mick can also give it a try with your modules? Pluto |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6761 |
I'll try to get a look at it this weekend, Pluto. Strange little modules aren't they? Pity they didn't get the bugs out of it before release. :( Still, it's the sort of thing you program once and then embed in the equipment. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
Pluto Guru Joined: 09/06/2017 Location: FinlandPosts: 357 |
Maybe I am the bug? With the limited info available, I might not do things exactly as the designer has planned. At first I was disappointed to not get the parameters programmed. A: Programming --> Read parameters did not show the new parameters After a lot of experimentation I think I found a trick: B: Programming --> Reset the module --> Read parameters In both cases the parameters are correctly programmed, but it is of course nicer if you are able to immediately confirm success. Replies from the modules confused me a bit before I understood what to look for. Some replies are hexadecimal referring to parameter settings and commandos. Others are hexadecimal to be interpreted as ASCII codes (+wake, +OK, +START...). The program includes a lot of PAUSEs, which I initially thought could help. Probably most of them could be removed. On the other hand it does not matter too much if an initialisation is a few seconds longer or shorter. Mostly you do the initialisation only once for each module. With the knowledge collected, the program could have been much simpler....but as long as it works as a utility to be only rarely used I do not intend to spend much more time on it. Pluto |
||||
PhenixRising Guru Joined: 07/11/2023 Location: United KingdomPosts: 853 |
Looking interesting to me Pluto It's nothing new for really cool devices to be a bit of a struggle to figure out. One of these days, Mick will embrace the Arduino IDE [runs for cover] |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4213 |
Hi Pluto, I think it is usefull to clean up the tool, and put it on fruit of the shed. Next year someone might be looking for it. Harm. PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6761 |
That'll probably be the day after the release of PicoCOBOL for the RP2040. :) I seem to remember seeing that after a configuration word you have to send a reset command. That makes a kind of twisted logic. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4213 |
Hi Mick, There seem to many 2.4GHz communication devices besides WIFI. JDY-40 JDY-41 A range of nRF24 boards XL297 BK2461 and then the ESP series with ESP-NOW Most of these require special "drivers", maybe except the JDY-40 that is uses the Hayes commands. All the examples you see for the nRF24 series use the arduino platform since it has a library that does it all for you. Maybe that is the same for the other chips. It may be worth investigating one of these, and adding it to the "device" range of the pico. Same as the WS2812 and DTH22. I think the nRF24 platforms are most common, so that could be a favourite candidate. Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6761 |
I think Geoff once said that he'd considered putting nRF24 support into MMBasic but no decision was made because there is no single way to use it. If some sort of common consensus could be reached on what is wanted then it might be a very good candidate. The Arduino stuff has to go though. ;) I started to create some library routines as a start, just basic setup stuff at the moment. I've not looked into actual communication. Documentation seems to be pretty good on the whole. The JDY-40 is very nice in many ways but it's quite limited. There's no ACK system so all that stuff has to be provided in your software (if you are bothered about such stuff). Also, if you have a console connection it uses the only remaining COM port. I'm still unsure about the JDY-41. I'm unhappy about changing the firmware in a module so that it can be supported. At some point in the future that may not be possible, even though the original firmware still works in the same way. If people wish to follow the ESP32/Annexe/ESP-NOW path(s) then that's fine, but it's got nothing to do with the Pico, which is what's of interest to me. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
Page 2 of 3 |
Print this page |