Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : RP2350 firmware
Page 2 of 20 | |||||
Author | Message | ||||
stanleyella Guru Joined: 25/06/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 2112 |
an observation I've an optiplex 3020 pc running win11..ta rufus..connected to 42"" tv and 2 TB hd with lots of media. It only has vga to tv and 3.5mm coax sound BUT the same media looks and sounds the same from a media player with hdmi out. ie vga 19xx by 10xx looks fine. if interested I bought a vga to hdmi converter with usb power lead and 3.5mm audio socket for vga sound to hdmi and it works! |
||||
Bleep Guru Joined: 09/01/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 509 |
Hi Peter, I have tested your TestHDMI.zip file and it's working fine on a monitor 640x480 73Hz but still not on large TV, so I thought I'd better check it was able to display down to that resolution and it appears it can't (480i, 480p, 576i, 576p, 720i, 720p, 1080i, 1080p, 2160i) so anyway the HDMI output is working fine at 73Hz. Regards, Kevin. |
||||
Bleep Guru Joined: 09/01/2022 Location: United KingdomPosts: 509 |
I have now been able to test the VGA version, as Mick said it's working great. As a test I ran the BubbleUniverse program, exactly the same code on a 2040 and then a 2350, this is very maths heavy & speedup looks very good. 2040 @ 378MHz bubble runs at 286mS per frame 2350A @ 378MHz bubble runs at 163mS per frame. Approximately a 1.75 times speed up. :-) Not too shabby. I'll have to increase the number of points it plots to slow it down again ;-) Regards Kevin. |
||||
PhenixRising Guru Joined: 07/11/2023 Location: United KingdomPosts: 856 |
Yeah, 2350 puts a big smile on my face |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9100 |
PicoMite.zip This file contains PicoMite, PicoMiteHDMI, and PicoMiteVGA firmware for the RP2350 Included in this version are full support for the additional pins on the RP2350B including PWM channels 8-11 (now maximum of 24 simultaneous PWM = servos) Configuration for the RP2350B is automatic and pins GP23,GP24 and GP29 are available. Pin GP25 is still allocated to a heartbeat but this can be disabled as before. Supported CPU speeds are PicoMite:48-378MHz , VGA:126,252,and 378MHz, HDMI 315Mhz fixed. Support for PIO2 (untested). PicoMite and HDMI versions have all three pio available. VGA version has pio1 and pio2 More memory for user programs |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6768 |
Woo! Only USB host support to go now? I'm fitting links to isolate the USB pins so that a simple USB breakout can be connected for initial loading of the firmware, Then links can be fitted to connect the pins to the USB hub module. After that you have 4 USB-A sockets on the board. GP8 & GP9 are connected to a USB-C to TTL adapter via a level shifter. This can be unplugged to allow access to those pins should it be needed. I thought that was probably better at this stage, although I think MOSFETs would be fine eventually. You can get a USB-C to TTL module with 3V3 outputs but I happen to have a couple of these. They also incorporate a 500mA fuse. I asked about this earlier but I think you missed it (or I missed your answer). Are both COM1 and COM2 still available when GP8 and GP9 are being used for the console? Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9100 |
Console uses either com1 or com2 depending on pins so one of them won't be available - same as rp2040 |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6768 |
Ok, thanks. :) Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
Martin H. Guru Joined: 04/06/2022 Location: GermanyPosts: 1113 |
Hi Peter, My Pico 2 has just arrived, so first of all I tested the VGA version. looks like there are some issues with the transparent color of the layer cheers Martin 'no comment |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9100 |
Martin Please could I prevail on you to knock up a simple test program for this problem Thanks |
||||
lizby Guru Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3150 |
Thanks for this. Since these uf2 files are incompatible with the 2040, might it be reasonable to name them differently, e.g., PicoMite2.uf2, etc.? PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9100 |
This is a thread purely for the RP2350 firmware. There are all sorts of things to sort out like versioning/naming etc. For the moment it is what it is. |
||||
Martin H. Guru Joined: 04/06/2022 Location: GermanyPosts: 1113 |
fast and dirty: MODE 2 FRAMEBUFFER Layer 9 FRAMEBUFFER write l Color RGB(Magenta),0 Font 5 For n=1 To 5:Print "** SHINE THROUGH TEST ";:Next Box 80,60,160,120,,RGB(magenta),RGB(magenta) FRAMEBUFFER write n Do For R= 0 To 1 For G=0 To 3 For B=0 To 1 CLS RGB(R*255,G*85,B*255) Pause 150:FRAMEBUFFER wait Next :Next :Next Loop only every 2nd pixel is transparent Edited 2024-08-23 22:22 by Martin H. 'no comment |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9100 |
Any better? PicoMiteVGA.zip |
||||
Martin H. Guru Joined: 04/06/2022 Location: GermanyPosts: 1113 |
superb Thank you for fixing Cheers Martin 'no comment |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9100 |
Here is the full set of firmware for the RP2350: V6.0.0b0 PicoMite-RP2350-V6.0.0B0.zip Enclosed are standard and USB-host versions for the PIcoMite, PicoMiteVGA, and PicoMiteHDMI. The USB versions are not tested other than that they boot, flash the heartbeat, and in the case of the VGA and HDMI variants display the expected screen. All versions now support: PLAY MP3 fname$ as long as the CPU speed is set to > 200MHz Like the CMM2 if fname$ is a directory the PicoMite will play all the files in the directory and PLAY NEXT and PLAY PREVIOUS should work as expected. Please report any issue you find. Please try any and all programs from your stock of RP2040 portfolio. There should be no difference other than a performance improvement. HDMI and VGA versions should also behave identically Edited 2024-08-24 04:37 by matherp |
||||
Martin H. Guru Joined: 04/06/2022 Location: GermanyPosts: 1113 |
If I judge the screenshots correctly, the SD card for the HDMI Version should be connected as follows: am I right? 'no comment |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9100 |
You can use any pins (except GP12 to GP19), I just happened to choose those. Just use OPTION SDCARD as normal |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4222 |
Peter, Please explain. Gp12 is used for sd card in 2040 Gp19 is used for VGA in 2040 Is this violating 2350? I ordered.the pimoroni board to plug it into my 2040 VGA platform I can work around it, but would like to know. Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
robert.rozee Guru Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 2350 |
i think what Peter is wanting to say is that, if the HDMI output is being used on an RP2350, then GP12-GP19 and unavailable as these 8 pins are used for the video drive signals. that is 4 pairs, one for each of the R, G, B, and clock channels. when video output is being used, these pins are hardwired for the task. when using the RP2040, the pins reserved for VGA signals are GP16-GP21, being 4 video signals (R, G1, G2, and B), plus Hsync and Vsync. when video output is being used, these 6 pins are similarly hardwired for the task. i am guessing that VGA output from an RP2350 is also hardwired to GP16 - GP21. by "hardwired" i mean either the onboard hardware of the processor chip can only use this specific set of pins for task (as is the case with HDMI on the RP2350), or are hardcoded to the specific pins in the MMbasic firmware (i'm pretty sure this is this the case with VGA on RP2040 and RP2350, i can not find any OPTION VGA... setting in the manual i have here). in all the above cases, if you use a MMbasic firmware that does not make use of video output, then the pins (GP12-GP19 or GP16-GP21) are free to be used for whatever else you wish. with an SD card is attached, any group of four otherwise unused GPIO pins can be used for the task, as the SD card's communication is entirely bitbanged by the MMbasic firmware. Peter, have i got this right? cheers, rob :-) Edited 2024-08-25 00:51 by robert.rozee |
||||
Page 2 of 20 |
Print this page |