Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 01:27 24 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PicoMite V6.00.00 release candidates - all versions

     Page 19 of 23    
Author Message
ville56
Regular Member

Joined: 08/06/2022
Location: Austria
Posts: 91
Posted: 06:07am 04 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

RC14 also seem to cure an issue i had with RC12. SETTICK timer interrupts stopped on a random basis. RC14 now running > 12 hours without any issue.
Environment is WebMite without any options set (except autostart on).

Regards, Gerald
                                                                 
73 de OE1HGA, Gerald
 
Martin H.

Guru

Joined: 04/06/2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 1113
Posted: 06:27am 04 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  
I had to reduce the heap size from 100kB to 96kB to avoid stack issues. It will play a flac file perfectly well but not if your program uses lots of heap itself.
I'll see if I can find a way to restore back to 100K.


My FLAC files work perfectly again under RC14, thank you

Cheers
Martin
'no comment
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9101
Posted: 08:29am 04 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

UPDATE

  Quote  Something is rotten in the state of Denmark


The current release SDK (V2.0.0) has a bug in the timer alarm system that causes the routine 1mSec timer that is used throughout MMbasic to stop under unknown circumstances. This only happens after a period and there are no obvious causes.

The development version of the sdk purports to have fixed this bug BUT appears to have completely broken USB host functionality. RC14 doesn't work properly when a USB keyboard mouse or gamepad is used.

RC12 was built with SDK V2.0.0 but included a fix that restarted the timer if it stopped. This worked in all versions except the WebMite which it completely bu....ed

My final frustration is that TinyUSB connects a mouse in BOOT mode. This is like the mouse functionality you see in the BIOS on a PC. This works as far as positioning and the buttons are concerned but does not support the scroll wheel. Is there anyone out there who understands USB enough to use a sniffer and find out what the USB host needs to send to a mouse to switch it out of BOOT mode? Google has lots of people asking the same question and no replies.

AAGH!!!!!

The only good news is that I've nearly got the USB mouse working in the in-built editor allowing cursor positioning and cut-and-paste using the mouse.
 
javavi

Senior Member

Joined: 01/10/2023
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 203
Posted: 11:52am 04 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said   what the USB host needs to send to a mouse to switch it out of BOOT mode?

Both PS/2 mice and USB mice need initialization to work with the scroll wheel.
There are also several types of USB mice whose reports differ.
I wrote earlier that there is a project where a person made his own library for working with USB HID devices for SDK 2.0 and TinyUSB 0.17 (like keyboard, mouse, joystick, gamepad) in which he solves this problem of parsing reports from different types of devices, including initialization of the scroll wheel of USB mice.
I took part in testing it on devices.
Please take a look at it:
https://github.com/fruit-bat/pico-hid-host
BTW:
At the same time, you can ask him to port his ZX-Spectrum emulator to the PicoMiteHDMIUSB platform. He is a very kind and responsive person.
https://github.com/fruit-bat/pico-zxspectrum
PS: He also has implemented HDMI sound.
Edited 2024-11-04 22:24 by javavi
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9101
Posted: 12:50pm 04 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I looked at that code but couldn't find my way through it to where he does anything obviously different to me. My code in the CMM2 for the PS2 mouse enables the scroll wheel but sending a USB report with the same code sequence on USB does nothing
 
javavi

Senior Member

Joined: 01/10/2023
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 203
Posted: 12:56pm 04 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  I looked at that code but couldn't find my way through it to where he does anything obviously different to me.

It may be initializing the mouse somewhere in the main program, but the mouse scroll wheel works fine.
Let me remind you again that, like joysticks, there are at least two varieties of USB mice with different response reports.
 
ville56
Regular Member

Joined: 08/06/2022
Location: Austria
Posts: 91
Posted: 05:09pm 04 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Another funny effect found just by "incident" (typo) on WebMite RC12 upwards

setpin gp25, dout  results in
Error : Pin 43/hijklmnopqrstuvwxyz[\]^_`abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz{|}~

Different illegal pins give different text after the /

Did receive a properly formatted errormessage at least in RC11 ...

Reagrds, Gerald
                                                                 
73 de OE1HGA, Gerald
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9101
Posted: 02:39pm 05 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

V6.00.00RC15

PicoMiteRP2040V6.00.00RC15.zip


PicoMiteRP2350V6.00.00RC15.zip



Revert to sdk2.0.0 with check/correction for millisecond clock stopping
Fixes validation of pins in WebMite

New functionality:

HDMIUSB and VGAUSB (RP2040 and RP2350)

If you start the editor with a mouse plugged in and are editing in mode 1 with colour coding on you will see a character highlighted with red on a white background. This highlight can be moved using the mouse.

In normal mode
Left clicking on the mouse will move the edit cursor to that position - same as using the cursor keys
Right clicking the mouse will enter mark mode (cut-and-paste) with the cursor positioned where the highlight was i.e. right click = F4
Clicking the scroll wheel will paste the contents of the cut-and-paste buffer at the location of the highlighted character i.e. wheel click = F5

In mark mode (cut-and-paste)
Left clicking on the mouse will move the edit cursor to that position highlighting characters from the mark position to the highlighted position - same as using the cursor keys
Right clicking will cut from the mark position to the highlighted position storing the cut characters in the cut-and-paste buffer and exit mark mode i.e. right click = F4
Clicking the scroll wheel will copy from the mark position to the highlighted position storing the cut characters in the cut-and-paste buffer and exit mark mod i.e. wheel click = F5

NB: on occasion when exiting cut-and-paste a single character may be incorrectly colour coded. This is benign and will correct itself when that line is redrawn

Edited 2024-11-06 00:43 by matherp
 
PhenixRising
Guru

Joined: 07/11/2023
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 857
Posted: 03:34pm 05 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I'd just started a settick test, after reading about an issue, when I saw RC15.

I updated my RPi Pico 2 and ran my normally rock-solid "settick 1" routine. It runs for a few seconds and then:





Oh wait....it's also the first time that I tried 396MHz..Dropping back to 378MHz to test.
Edited 2024-11-06 01:38 by PhenixRising
 
PhenixRising
Guru

Joined: 07/11/2023
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 857
Posted: 03:43pm 05 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

False alarm...My Pico-2 doesn't like 396MHz
 
homa

Guru

Joined: 05/11/2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 351
Posted: 05:31pm 05 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I the new mouse support in the editor!

Matthias
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6094
Posted: 01:57am 06 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Still early testing but so far both PicoMiteHDMI using pico2 board and PicoMite at 315MHz and 150MHz using PGA board pass the XMODEM send tests with MMCC
I will do more tests but looking good so far!

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2135
Posted: 04:56am 06 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

PicoMite RP2040 MMBasic Version 6.00.00RC15
OPTION CPUSPEED  400000 'KHz

Passes the XMODEM Send test with MMCC and TeraTerm.
Edited 2024-11-06 15:10 by phil99
 
javavi

Senior Member

Joined: 01/10/2023
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 203
Posted: 09:30pm 07 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

External PSRAM for PicoMite

Is it possible for PicoMite to combine the connection to Pico of an external SD card and the SPRAM memory on one SPI bus?
Make the choice of access via the Chip Select line, for PSRAM it is inverted, which means it is available when there is no access to the SD card.
What are the considerations for this?
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9101
Posted: 09:45pm 07 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

No
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2112
Posted: 10:06pm 07 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

if psram is cool then why it not implemented commercial pico boards?
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6772
Posted: 10:25pm 07 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

We now know that Pimorini's PSRAM is slow on a QSPI bus. It'll probably be slightly faster than paper tape storage if you use a single SPI channel. :)
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2112
Posted: 10:49pm 07 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post


it's new to me,not a clue as usual,just mentioned in threads.
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4222
Posted: 08:08am 08 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

javavi,

A PS-RAM as a external memory device can technically function on the SPI bus. But you would need to treat it as such. The SD card speed (clock speed) is in the 5-16MHz range. The PS-RAM would need to use similar, but it is 1 bit databus.

The RP2350 boards that have PS-RAM use the memory chip at somthing like 60MHz with a 4 bit wide bus. That gives a datarate that is around 20x faster. This is the same bus that the flash is on. Additionally there is (hardware inside the RP2350) a caching mechanism attached to the QSPI bus.

So yes, technically it is possible, but it may be better to buy a device that has PS-RAM on board. so you can use it in a transparent way, and it is much faster.

Regards,

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
javavi

Senior Member

Joined: 01/10/2023
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 203
Posted: 08:12pm 09 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Volhout said  So yes, technically it is possible, but it may be better to buy a device that has PS-RAM on board. so you can use it in a transparent way, and it is much faster.

Volhout, Thanks for the detailed answer!
I just know that the emulator guys use PSRAM in single-bit SPI mode in their emulators of retro computers on Pico (RP2040) and this memory allows them to expand the RAM of emulated devices, such as ZX-Spectrum 1024k on Z80 @3.5MHz with memory page switching.
True, this works on PIO machines at a data rate of up to 133 MHz.
Yes, I am aware of the expanded capabilities of working with PSRAM of the new RP2350 chip, but unfortunately there are no available modules with installed memory yet. I don't understand why it was impossible to make a landing place on the bottom of the reference board.

Regards, javavi.
Edited 2024-11-10 06:14 by javavi
 
     Page 19 of 23    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2024