Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 06:41 29 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Nokia 5110 LCD

     Page 1 of 4    
Author Message
jman

Guru

Joined: 12/06/2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 711
Posted: 09:40pm 17 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Ok so it seems the Nokia 5110 LCD has drawn a little attention




This are driven by the SPI interface
They are completely graphic displays (No built in fonts)
But his means we can make our own cool fonts and pictures

In my previous I made an error the resolution is 84x48
They are 3.3v so perfect for the UMite. add a 47ohm resistor in
series with the backlight

Attached is the code I used for Clock / Temp display in the Pic.
With the Maximite I normally load the fonts from the SD
The little board in the picture has a DS1307 and 24c32 eeprom I have also
used the eeprom to store the fonts. The attached listing has the fonts
in the main program

2014-02-18_072256_Nokia5110Clock.zip

Take a look at the listing the fonts are near the bottom.


There a few utility's that will convert BMP's to Hex codes
I will dig them out and post them

Regards
Jman
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9308
Posted: 09:56pm 17 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks for taking the hint.

I have just ordered 10 of these LCD's, so I hope to expand my experience, as I have never worked with any SPI stuff - ever. I have known of it's existence of course, but I have never used any SPI device on anything, so should be a nice learning curve for me.
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
Zonker

Guru

Joined: 18/08/2012
Location: United States
Posts: 761
Posted: 05:37pm 18 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Jman..!!

I actually have one of these little buggers and will try to get one connected up... Having your code makes it happen for me..!! Stick this baby in the LIB.. Looks like a keeper.. This unit is a good size fit for the uMite class Good work J..

 
Zonker

Guru

Joined: 18/08/2012
Location: United States
Posts: 761
Posted: 06:37pm 20 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

One Picture says it all..!!





Awesome display for the uMite..!

 
jman

Guru

Joined: 12/06/2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 711
Posted: 07:28pm 20 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I could not resist





Regards
Jman
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9308
Posted: 08:28pm 20 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Boo hoo.
Mine have not yet arrived, so I can't post my own message on the LCD.
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
paceman
Guru

Joined: 07/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1329
Posted: 01:46am 21 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

If you'd like some very cheap 16x2 displays as alternatives, and/or 4x3 and 4x4 keypads to get stuff into them, Rockby currently have them on special here in Melbourne at around $9 for four. Rockby specials

Greg

 
Zonker

Guru

Joined: 18/08/2012
Location: United States
Posts: 761
Posted: 03:38pm 21 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

You know...

Now that Geoff has given us what we were grubbin bout as far as IR transceiver subsystem, maybe it's time to take it to the "system integration" level... I was talking to Lou about IR codes.. "and stuff".. and I think it comes down to the fact that there are many kinds of remotes, each as it seems, with it's own "device" code and the extra "unique" data code table to deal with... ect... ect... ect...

Yikes..!! ... I know, how bout this... Let's code our own "uMite" remote transceiver unit (with the Jman LCD) (oh yes) and, create a good standard code-set and common device everyone could use....

"just..sayin"

EDIT: Just think... You could use such a device to walk up to any uMite node, and go into the set-up menu, change a few settings, display the current error log, change the node password.... ect...Edited by Zonker 2014-02-23
 
Zonker

Guru

Joined: 18/08/2012
Location: United States
Posts: 761
Posted: 07:47pm 21 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Didn't take long to spin one up using a 28 pinner...

2014-02-22_054640_uMite_IR_Remote.pdf

Hey... Just an Idea...

 
jman

Guru

Joined: 12/06/2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 711
Posted: 08:27pm 21 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Fantastic

Lets make it !


Jman
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9308
Posted: 09:14pm 21 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I second the motion.
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
bigmik

Guru

Joined: 20/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2914
Posted: 11:25pm 21 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hey Cool,

Apart from the novelty of the NOKIA screen I wasn't all that keen on the idea of using one but seeing where this is going has whetted my appetite a bit. I now have to admit that this little beastie is more useful than I gave it credit for initially.

Thanks Jman and everyone.


Regards,

Mick



Mick's uMite Stuff can be found >>> HERE (Kindly hosted by Dontronics) <<<
 
plasma
Guru

Joined: 08/04/2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 437
Posted: 02:43am 22 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

haha great idea !
pin 6 can shut the backlight on or off ?
 
jman

Guru

Joined: 12/06/2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 711
Posted: 12:42pm 22 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Even better we can adjust the backlight with PWM

JmanEdited by jman 2014-02-23
 
palcal

Guru

Joined: 12/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1873
Posted: 03:11pm 22 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Jman,
Can you tell me where to find info on making my own fonts.
I want to be able to display numbers in a larger font maybe 3 times normal size.
I have ordered some screens but have not arrived yet.
Paul.
"It is better to be ignorant and ask a stupid question than to be plain Stupid and not ask at all"
 
jman

Guru

Joined: 12/06/2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 711
Posted: 09:41pm 22 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  palcal said   Jman,
Can you tell me where to find info on making my own fonts.
I want to be able to display numbers in a larger font maybe 3 times normal size.
I have ordered some screens but have not arrived yet.
Paul.


Sure
I use a little program that I have attached
If you are just want bigger numbers then just make a
set of larger numbers no need to do the whole table

I am busy with an update to the code to allow different size fonts
Once you have the numbers created drop me line and we can get them
added to the current code (That way you get use them fast)
2014-02-23_073543_fastlcd.zip
Don't forget to set the grid size to 84x48
The standard fonts are 7x8 and the left most column is blank
This software will also allow you to create a complete screen
(Like a cool splash screen at startup)

Let me know how you get on

Regards
Jman
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9308
Posted: 10:05pm 22 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

jman - you mentioned at one point(i think it was on another thread) that you had stored the fonts in an EEPROM.

Can you give me(and others I am sure) some additional information on that?
If you have multiple fonts, I guess that you would store these in the EEPROM and the splash-screen in the uM, so that while the splash-screen is showing, you can load the fonts from the EEPROM in the background.

I expect my RTC/EEPROM modules next week, so it would be an ideal way for me to tinker with I2C - both the RTC and by using the EEPROM for the fonts, I can learn to access two different I2C devices.
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
Zonker

Guru

Joined: 18/08/2012
Location: United States
Posts: 761
Posted: 04:04am 23 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Could we also store the font tables in the flash variable storage area..? I would like to see a table of fonts include the objects that let you make simple lines and boxes so we could fancy it up a bit...
 
BobD

Guru

Joined: 07/12/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 935
Posted: 08:46am 23 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

jman, how extensible are your routines? I see an number of graphics LCDs on eBay etc. that are 128 x 64 and even larger. Can your routines handle those sizes?
 
jman

Guru

Joined: 12/06/2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 711
Posted: 09:09am 23 Feb 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  BobD said   jman, how extensible are your routines? I see an number of graphics LCDs on eBay etc. that are 128 x 64 and even larger. Can your routines handle those sizes?


It will depend on the chipset that the display use's
I am keen to try a larger one so watch this space

@ Paul

Is this what you are after





 
     Page 1 of 4    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2024