Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : (DM) DuinoMite-eMega is complete
Page 1 of 2 | |||||
Author | Message | ||||
Olimex Senior Member Joined: 02/10/2011 Location: BulgariaPosts: 226 |
We run the first prototypes last Friday, this week we will distribute them through DM development team to start work on the firmware: DuinoMite-eMage it has all DuinoMite-Mega features + 100MB Ethernet, PMP 80Mhz port, 2MB on board flash drive and 64KB EEPROM for setup storage info. with the MOD-VGA additional shield (adding 512KB of RAM) this become 32 bit complete computer with Graphics and memory much more than the Comodore, Amiga, Apple had back in 198x |
||||
Gizmo Admin Group Joined: 05/06/2004 Location: AustraliaPosts: 5078 |
Wow! Glenn The best time to plant a tree was twenty years ago, the second best time is right now. JAQ |
||||
djuqa Guru Joined: 23/11/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 447 |
MEGA want one NOW! VK4MU MicroController Units |
||||
Olimex Senior Member Joined: 02/10/2011 Location: BulgariaPosts: 226 |
The prototypes are ready to ship to DuinoMite software development team! DuinoMite-eMega Web Page |
||||
JohnS Guru Joined: 18/11/2011 Location: United KingdomPosts: 3801 |
aww, my Mega is now feeling inadequate! John |
||||
Ray B Senior Member Joined: 16/02/2007 Location: AustraliaPosts: 219 |
Using the Ethernet capability I'm looking forward to seeing example code to run "Web In A Box" code to be able to host a web page which could display status of inputs and even through password protection be allow to control outputs. Well done with the hardware Olimex. RayB from Perth WA |
||||
Olimex Senior Member Joined: 02/10/2011 Location: BulgariaPosts: 226 |
as far we have PIC32-MAXI-WEB done with the same processor which includes Microchip TCP-IP stack and even supports WiFi with MOD-WIFI, I would say this WEB-in-a-BOX is ready right now if you want to abandon BASIC and use C |
||||
Ray B Senior Member Joined: 16/02/2007 Location: AustraliaPosts: 219 |
Olimex I suppose this will lead to the requirement of IP based MMbasic instructions requiring merger into MM 4.0 RayB from Perth WA |
||||
djuqa Guru Joined: 23/11/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 447 |
What it really needs is for MM/DM basic to have user installable routines to cater for any non-standard hardware/software NEEDS VK4MU MicroController Units |
||||
Olimex Senior Member Joined: 02/10/2011 Location: BulgariaPosts: 226 |
you have no idea how easy is this, watch my blog today I will write article about it |
||||
djuqa Guru Joined: 23/11/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 447 |
With over 20 years experience writing commercial software I DO KNOW EXACTLY how Hard/Easy it is. VK4MU MicroController Units |
||||
Olimex Senior Member Joined: 02/10/2011 Location: BulgariaPosts: 226 |
Hacking DuinoMite BASIC -> HERE |
||||
djuqa Guru Joined: 23/11/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 447 |
Good article, but what I was talking about is implementing the hooks so small routines can be vectored into the firmware without re-compilation. VK4MU MicroController Units |
||||
Olimex Senior Member Joined: 02/10/2011 Location: BulgariaPosts: 226 |
no re-compilation? this is SciFi unless you learn how to write your subroutines directly in machine code |
||||
djuqa Guru Joined: 23/11/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 447 |
What I am talking about is Pre-compiled Modules supplied by others or self developed that can be used as installable routines. IE someone buys your latest UEXT module and it needs some clever driver routines to use. The end-user would just install the routine as part of the supplied or self written program. Why should the ENTIRE FIRMWARE be re-compiled to create a CUSTOM version of MMBASIC. Each custom command could be developed using "C", or Assembly Language or another supported language. VK4MU MicroController Units |
||||
Olimex Senior Member Joined: 02/10/2011 Location: BulgariaPosts: 226 |
dynamic linking would require OS probably you have seen Sergey's posts here on TBS he is running the RetroBSD project and told me that he made the assembled and linker running on DuinoMite, but he is out of memory to fit the C compiler, his idea is to make stand alone UNIX computer with DuinoMite with keyboard and VGA same way as it's done in BASIC now. With the new MOD-VGA with 32MB of RAM he will have plenty of RAM for his project and he may move forward, so if Sergey can complete this DuinoMite will have UNIX and will be able to compile/link C without need of PC |
||||
JohnS Guru Joined: 18/11/2011 Location: United KingdomPosts: 3801 |
Well, it could be a restricted version of dynamic linking, and doesn't in any case have to imply an OS. There would need to be a way to use internal parts of MMBasic but maybe there are only a fairly small number that realistically need to be made available. Pointers to them could be provided in an array whose address is fixed and known (or available via MM.WHATEVER). This is akin to BCPL's global vector IIRC. Then the C code would just be written with this in mind. MMBasic would need a function to load the binary of the C, and the C will need to be compiled a lttle specially (no start-up code; PIC - position-independent code?). But it looks fairly easy. That global vector's address could be passed by MMBasic to an Init() function in the C and/or passed when the C is called. So, in MMBasic something like: myfunc = LoadC("myfunc.bin") where myfunc is set to some magic that can be used later with some such as: result = CallC(myfunc, arg1, arg2) or even better: result = myfunc(arg1, arg2) (you pass as many args as needed; MMBasic will end up handing the C function data about what was actually passed in) Note that the above requires no dynamic linking at all. There are a couple of pointers here and there, is all. I suppose myfunc better be guaranteed not to have certain values if the LoadC is OK but to have an error code otherwise. John |
||||
Olimex Senior Member Joined: 02/10/2011 Location: BulgariaPosts: 226 |
the problem is that to do this you need RAM it;s easy to add the new functionalities in Flash but the RAM is only 30k for everything - variables, codes, stack, this gives not much flexibility with the external 32MB RAM MOD-VGA things may change |
||||
JohnS Guru Joined: 18/11/2011 Location: United KingdomPosts: 3801 |
I see no reason why it has to be RAM. It can go in flash, much as there's a flash drive. It would perhaps be handy to use RAM until it's debugged :) John |
||||
djuqa Guru Joined: 23/11/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 447 |
at last someone who gets it. VK4MU MicroController Units |
||||
Page 1 of 2 |
Print this page |