Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
I would like to keep the present data on the video screen and
also have the screen protected from "burn in" with the help of a MMBasic command.
Any suggestions welcome
Note: It is the philosopy of the MaxiMite to used as cheap as video monitor
to work with the PIC32 BUT there are some users that need to protect their
newer video screens from burn-in.
Of course I could just reduce the intensity and brightness manually but
I need an automatic solution.
Edited by DuinoMiteMegaAn 2011-12-09
Vikingboy Regular Member
Joined: 23/09/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 82
Posted: 03:10pm 07 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
Hi,
I wrote a simple clock for mine when it was just sitting doing nothing else, to prevent burn in I simply used the inkey$ command , the screen is blanked after a fixed time and to view again you just need to hit any key. You could probably use the timer interupt or something like that to regularly check for keyboard activity before blanking the screen if you are running a more interactive program.
rgds,
Andrew
DuinoMiteMegaAn Senior Member
Joined: 17/11/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 231
Posted: 03:39pm 07 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
Any code snippet?
Olimex Senior Member
Joined: 02/10/2011 Location: BulgariaPosts: 226
Posted: 03:41pm 07 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
I do wonder if people still use CRT VGA monitors anywhere :)
LCDs are so cheap today they completely replaced the CRT monitors
DuinoMiteMegaAn Senior Member
Joined: 17/11/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 231
Posted: 03:45pm 07 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
Are you saying by having a LCD monitor you don't need burn-in protection?
camfab Newbie
Joined: 10/09/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 13
Posted: 06:40pm 07 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
the "twinkle" demo code ,from geoff's site, http://geoffg.net/maximite.html, at the bottom under downloads "MMBasic Library V1.6 - User written programs for the Maximite" is a random pixel on/off program that gives a very effective screen. it would be a very suitable basis for a screen saver, just ask microsoft!!!Edited by camfab 2011-12-09Fre Sprky
///...///
brucepython
Regular Member
Joined: 19/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 64
Posted: 07:49pm 07 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
This is a bit simpler and works on any sized screen:
Very cool twinkle screen saver
But it covers up the text data present
on the screen which I do need to review!
MM_Wombat Senior Member
Joined: 12/12/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 139
Posted: 07:22pm 12 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
Could you do a "savebmp 'Screensave.bmp'" command and use the bmpshow program in the maximite library to reload when review is needed...
Keep plugging away, it is fun learning
But can be expensive (if you keep blowing things up).
Maximite, ColourMaximite, MM+
brucepython
Regular Member
Joined: 19/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 64
Posted: 08:04pm 12 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
Saving a BMP of the screen would preserve the display, but not the information.
You certainly could reload the BMP of the screen (assuming you didn't fall asleep waiting for it to reload) but it would only be an image, not the editable text you were working with previously.
Bruce
Edited by brucepython 2011-12-14
DuinoMiteMegaAn Senior Member
Joined: 17/11/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 231
Posted: 03:23am 13 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
Saving to a bitmap is like putting the cart before the horse!
I have no idea when data will arrive on the video screen,
so really doing a BMP save will not help. Guess the only solution
is to reduce the video brightness and intensity manually the old fashion way.
pcaffalldavis
Senior Member
Joined: 17/10/2011 Location: United StatesPosts: 187
Posted: 04:42am 13 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
Viking boy,
Could you post the code for your clock? It sounds interesting.
Pete in HyderWe're all here 'cause we're not all there.
aargee Senior Member
Joined: 21/08/2008 Location: AustraliaPosts: 255
Posted: 09:36am 13 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
Why not switch a transistor to earth in the video line?
< This bit is sad - sent while waiting for the Cold Chisel concert to start! >For crying out loud, all I wanted to do was flash this blasted LED.
Vikingboy Regular Member
Joined: 23/09/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 82
Posted: 03:30pm 14 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
Hi,
Sorry I have been busy finalizing my CNC project and havn't been around here in a while, Re my clock code, as I said it is very simple it just clears the screen until a key is pressed and then displays the time again (for around 4 seconds) enough to check the time, then clears it again.
I think the problem is that it all really depends on your code and your requirements for viewing the data etc, can you give a better description of what it is exactly you are doing or maybe post at least a cut down version which demonstrates the principal of your code, then I could give a try at incorporating something that may work for you.
rgds,
Andrew
DuinoMiteMegaAn Senior Member
Joined: 17/11/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 231
Posted: 04:08am 15 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
All I am doing is using the video to collect process data.
I was hoping to have a screen saver that would blank the screen and
with a keypress restore my process data text. For the looks of it
I really don't think it could be done on the MM/DM?
Vikingboy Regular Member
Joined: 23/09/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 82
Posted: 04:48am 15 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
When you say 'process data' do you mean current information eg the voltage on pin 12 now, or do you mean historical data eg the voltage on pin 12 for the last 2 hours ?
the first is easy ,it could work like my clock, the second is harder as you need to restore the data by either saving to an array or sdcard and then re-displaying, I think either could be done, but it really is quite dependent on the application.
Andrew
DuinoMiteMegaAn Senior Member
Joined: 17/11/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 231
Posted: 02:50am 16 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
OK, its very simple, I want the video screen saver to mimic the screen saver on any PC. Any data on the screen will be retained after any wake-up key is pressed. From the looks of this feature, it can only be done in firmware? Cheers
Edited by DuinoMiteMegaAn 2011-12-17
Keith @
Senior Member
Joined: 19/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 167
Posted: 03:30am 16 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
I can think of one very simple way to do this and don't take this the wrong way it is a very valid simple suggestion.
Turn the monitor off when you want to invoke the 'screensaver' and turn the monitor on when you want to restore the screen data.
Keith The more we know, the more we know we don't know !
aargee Senior Member
Joined: 21/08/2008 Location: AustraliaPosts: 255
Posted: 07:02am 16 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
OK, spell it out...
Connect a BC548 transistor from the video out line to earth, then drive it with one of the MM I/O lines via a 1k resistor. Just switch it on and off in software to give you your screen blanking.
- Rob.
For crying out loud, all I wanted to do was flash this blasted LED.
DuinoMiteMegaAn Senior Member
Joined: 17/11/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 231
Posted: 10:48am 16 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
I can think of one very simple way to do this and don't take this the wrong way it is a very valid simple suggestion.
Turn the monitor off when you want to invoke the 'screensaver' and turn the monitor on when you want to restore the screen data.
On page one, of this topic, I got you covered Keith ...
Of course I could just reduce the intensity and brightness manually but
I need an automatic solution.
Breaking news ... Ken has already made a screen saver in firmware.
"Added screen saver to setup 5-60 in 5 minute increments see menu below"
DuinoMite Setup Menu - V1.4 Dec 15 2011
-----------------------------------------
Hardware Platform - DuinoMite
V) Video Mode - NTSC - 480
R) RTC On Boot - PCF8563
D) Date Format - MM/DD/YY
T) Show Time Date - Enabled
N) Screen Saver - 15 Minutes <-------<<<<<<
S) SD Card - Enabled
U) Usb Console - Disabled
C) Serial Console - Com3:
B) Baud Rate - 115200
M) Custom Video Mode
P) Print Custom Video Mode
-----------------------------------------
Q) Quit Dont Save Settings
X) Exit Save Settings
What about the MaxiMite users ?Edited by DuinoMiteMegaAn 2011-12-17