Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : mini Maximite and GPS
Author | Message | ||||
vk4tec Senior Member Joined: 24/03/2012 Location: AustraliaPosts: 239 |
Hello I found a mini Maximite kit. Does it have more than one com port ? Which pins ? I want to use it to go from GPS to another com port USART compatible I am assuming - Andrew - Andrew Rich VK4TEC www.tech-software.net |
||||
paceman Guru Joined: 07/10/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1329 |
Hi Andrew, Yes, it has the normal two serial ports for the Maximite using MMBasic - one with hardware control lines, one without. Yes, USART compatible, running at TTL voltages and the logic levels "inverted" as normal for TTL. Following is from Geoff Graham's MMBasic Language Manual, App A (Srial Comms) p43 - downloadable from his website Geoff Graham. The Silicon Chip article on the MINI Maximite is in the Nov. 2011 issue. Have fun, Greg Edit: you may need a pullup resistor on the Maximite transmit pins, 16 &/or 18 for COM1 and COM2 respectively, although I didn't when talking to a USART on an Atmel Mega chip. Input/Output Pin Allocation
COM1: uses pin 15 for receive data (data in) and pin 16 for transmit data (data out). If flow control is specified pin 17 will be used for RTS (receive flow control – it is an output) and pin 18 will be CTS (transmit flow control – it is an input). If the Data output Enable (DE) signal for RS485 is enabled it will be on pin 17. COM2: uses pin 19 for receive data (data in) and pin 20 for transmit data (data out) in the monochrome Maximite and D0 for receive data and pin D1 for transmit data on the Colour Maximite. For the DuinoMite see the "DuinoMite MMBasic ReadMe.pdf" document for details. When a serial port is opened the pins used by the port are automatically set to input or output as required and the SETPIN and PIN commands are disabled for the pins. When the port is closed (using the CLOSE command) all pins used by the serial port will be set to a not-configured state and the SETPIN command can then be used to reconfigure them. The signal polarity is standard for devices running at TTL voltages (not RS232). Idle is voltage high, the start bit is voltage low, data uses a high voltage for logic 1 and the stop bit is voltage high. The flow control pins (RTS and CTS) use a low voltage to signal stop sending data and high as OK to send. These signal levels allow you to directly connect to devices like the EM-408 GPS module (which uses TTL voltage levels). |
||||
vk4tec Senior Member Joined: 24/03/2012 Location: AustraliaPosts: 239 |
Thanks Greg. I have 1. TTL GPS 2. TTL TX module 3. 3.3 Volts PSU from 5 - 16 volts. I want to use the mini Maximite bacause of its size and ease of use ie basic. I am hesitant to cut of the extra part of the board for the time being. Making a GPS transmitter for my DJI Phantom Quad Copter - Andrew - Andrew Rich VK4TEC www.tech-software.net |
||||
paceman Guru Joined: 07/10/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1329 |
Looks like you're all set - and sounds like fun! There is example code for GPS in the MMBasic library MMBasic Library written by Geoff Graham. There have also been a number of other posts about different GPS modules in this forum - try searching "gps". I haven't cut my Mini either - I might need that bit of space later! Greg |
||||
vk4tec Senior Member Joined: 24/03/2012 Location: AustraliaPosts: 239 |
Oh I have done gps and lcd Heck I even did eta code as well But this will be the first time I have flown a maximite on an rc chopper Andrew Andrew Rich VK4TEC www.tech-software.net |
||||
paceman Guru Joined: 07/10/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1329 |
Just checked your profile Andrew - comments about grandmothers and egg sucking come to mind When you get it flying post us all some YouTube video! |
||||
vk4tec Senior Member Joined: 24/03/2012 Location: AustraliaPosts: 239 |
Andrew Rich VK4TEC www.tech-software.net |
||||
vk4tec Senior Member Joined: 24/03/2012 Location: AustraliaPosts: 239 |
Ok success All is working great TX is sending at 19k2 434 MHz GPS is wired up and working great Power can get down to about 5 volts before drop out - Andrew- Andrew Rich VK4TEC www.tech-software.net |
||||
paceman Guru Joined: 07/10/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1329 |
Have you got a hookup diagram and a list of the modules Andrew, and cost? It would be a great addition for the library - the first model and radio control project. Maybe after you get it all flying! Greg |
||||
Nixie Regular Member Joined: 19/02/2013 Location: AustraliaPosts: 66 |
Andrew, I'm interested to know what type of GPS you are using (EM406A?) and if you ended up connecting it directly to the COM port pins; and with, or without pull-up resistors? Regards, Nic VK3COW (ex VK4DIT) |
||||
Print this page |