Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 15:46 26 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : DM Com Port RX

Author Message
pelargic
Newbie

Joined: 16/11/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 2
Posted: 03:36pm 17 Nov 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post


As a preliminary step to reading RFID data I set up a Duinomite Mega and am sending it a data stream from an Arduino at 9600.
I would like this data to be read by the DM and printed to the screen.

Have used
OPEN "COM2:9600" AS #1
PRINT #1, "13"

Nothing happened. Seems a bit naive but this what I came up with after some hours of combing through the posts here and there. RTFM, at least the appropriate bits.(I hope)
I have the TX from the Arduino attached to pin 13 on the DM (this should be the RX pin).

I am running MM-4.0002 for the DM

Tested this successfully running 2 Arduinos TX to RX.
This is of course at TTL levels
The code for the RX Arduino is



void setup()
{
// initialize the serial communication:
Serial.begin(9600);
}
void loop() {
byte incoming;
// check if data has been sent
if (Serial.available()) {
incoming = Serial.read();
Serial.print(incoming);
}
}



Converted to MM Basic this would be ?
Any help on this would be much appreciated.
 
bigmik

Guru

Joined: 20/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2914
Posted: 06:54pm 17 Nov 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  pelargic said  

I would like this data to be read by the DM and printed to the screen.

Have used
OPEN "COM2:9600" AS #1
PRINT #1, "13"



Hi Pelargic,

I think you would need to do this

OPEN "COM2:9600" AS #1
INPUT #1, A$
Print A$

Regards,

Mick
Mick's uMite Stuff can be found >>> HERE (Kindly hosted by Dontronics) <<<
 
pelargic
Newbie

Joined: 16/11/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 2
Posted: 06:04pm 18 Nov 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks for that Mick, unfortunately this and other ideas have failed to hit pay dirt.
I saw that there may be a bug in INPUT() and so tried a couple of similar workarounds without result.
I will try this again later when I get a Maximite.

Warren
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6098
Posted: 10:25am 19 Nov 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Do you need to invert the serial data?
I am not familiar with the Arduino signal levels but it might be necessary to put a simple one transistor inverter in the RX line.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024