Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 21:24 25 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : GPS Logger SD Card

     Page 1 of 2    
Author Message
vk4tec

Senior Member

Joined: 24/03/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 239
Posted: 11:35pm 23 Mar 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hello,

New to the forum.

Been programming PIC16 in ASM for a while GPS USART LCD etc.

Recently discovered the MaxiMite and now DuinoMite.

ie ASM --> BASIC implementation.

//

I have a project.

To log to an SD card that can be read by a PC, from a NMEA GPS.

Input is either RS232 or TTL

Output is SD CARD to store NMEA.

I see some code for GPS parsing and SD card file writting.

Anyone done this ?

I think I might try a MaxiMite first .

I have a bitscope BS10U coming

I used to have a DSO on the bench

Here is my website

www.tech-software.net

- Andrew -Edited by vk4tec 2012-03-25
Andrew Rich VK4TEC
www.tech-software.net
 
djuqa

Guru

Joined: 23/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 447
Posted: 12:08am 24 Mar 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Welcome from another QLD Amateur
VK4MU MicroController Units

 
vk4tec

Senior Member

Joined: 24/03/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 239
Posted: 12:10am 24 Mar 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Matey

What sort of projects are you using the MaxiMite for ?

Is Altronics the best place to get one ?

I am hoping to be able to pop a GPS inside the Maximite case and piggy back a battery .

- Andrew -
Andrew Rich VK4TEC
www.tech-software.net
 
djuqa

Guru

Joined: 23/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 447
Posted: 12:16am 24 Mar 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I have 3 Duinomites (mini,regular,max) and two maximites (1 SM1 clone from Dontronics, no longer available) and 1 custom. Altronics & Jaycars kits are very expensive (Approx 100$ posted, Slighly less for the Mini-Maximite).
Dontronics & Silicon chip sell the bare boards & Silicon chip has the pre-programmed PIC32. The rest of the components are fairly standard and easily obtained.
The Duinomite and CGMMSTICK are a cheaper prebuilt solution with some limitations & advantages.

I am currently testing/developing a MM/DM based Cat controller for Yaesu FT-897 And (Other model) Radios.


Edited by djuqa 2012-03-25
VK4MU MicroController Units

 
vk4tec

Senior Member

Joined: 24/03/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 239
Posted: 12:46am 24 Mar 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hey cool - I did not know JAYCAR sold the mini Maximite

I can grab that and add some connectors and program

I see the firware and chip are already there.

I would need to add

+ VGA connector for screen
+ PS2 connector for keyboard
+ SD CARD holder
+ Power ?

I have GPS

I am a bit confused over how to

+ Make the device pick up a program on start - SD Card ?
+ Make STDOUT equal to the VGA screen or can the USB be used as a dump port ?

mini Maximite looks 3.3 Volts - best way around this ?

- Andrew -




Edited by vk4tec 2012-03-25
Andrew Rich VK4TEC
www.tech-software.net
 
djuqa

Guru

Joined: 23/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 447
Posted: 01:37am 24 Mar 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

maximite basic manual
VK4MU MicroController Units

 
vk4tec

Senior Member

Joined: 24/03/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 239
Posted: 02:00am 24 Mar 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks

Yes I think I will make a hard copy and keep it out

I went to JAYCAR and now have a miniMaxiMite

+ VGA will be via a DB15HD connector
+ Keyboard will be flying leads to an inline PS2 socket
+ SD card - I could only get a MultiCard type reader - may even solder straight to card
+ Power - 3 volts from plugack
+ GPS - TTL maybe - have to work that out

Maybe I can can get away with a "dump" command and just "replay" the SD CARD file back to USB serial hyperterm ?





Edited by vk4tec 2012-03-25
Andrew Rich VK4TEC
www.tech-software.net
 
vk4tec

Senior Member

Joined: 24/03/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 239
Posted: 02:41am 24 Mar 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Looks like the miniMaximite has some room inside the chip and then on the SD card

+ My program will reside on A: ( the internal 256 kb MEM )
+ My GPS NMEA data will reside on SD card "B:"

A: 256 KB
B: 2GB

A: Should contain "AUTORUN.BAS" to start auto magically
or
B: Should contain "AUTORUN.BAS" to start auto magically if not on A:

- Andrew -
Edited by vk4tec 2012-03-25
Andrew Rich VK4TEC
www.tech-software.net
 
bigmik

Guru

Joined: 20/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2914
Posted: 06:04am 24 Mar 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  vk4tec said   Thanks

Yes I think I will make a hard copy and keep it out

I went to JAYCAR and now have a miniMaxiMite




Hi There vk....

I love it when someone maps out what they want to do before they do it...

Great work...

I am curious though. Why did you select a miniMaximite if the next thing you wish to do is add VGA, Add SDcard, Add K/B and then require 5V (TTL) as well?.. A full maximite would have had all that built in or even a Duinomite as well would have all the things you need. DM Mega even has DB9 with RS232 level signals available as well.

If size was an issue the DM mini possibly could have fit the bill there (no RS232 level though)

Regards,

Mick


Mick's uMite Stuff can be found >>> HERE (Kindly hosted by Dontronics) <<<
 
djuqa

Guru

Joined: 23/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 447
Posted: 06:12am 24 Mar 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Exactly my thoughts
like buying a mini and stretching it into a BUS.
VK4MU MicroController Units

 
vk4tec

Senior Member

Joined: 24/03/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 239
Posted: 06:15am 24 Mar 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

+ Size - I wanted to start smaller and grow the design

+ Availablility - JAYCAR is down the road, I can start learning today

+ I was not sure I needed VGA, or KB figured I would add then remove as necessary

+ I figured I would add outboard VGA and KB until I worked out it I needed it or not.

+ I have x2 spare 5 volts reg ccts I can use.

+ I read obout Altronics not having stock - gamble

+ Did not know about DM Mega

- Andrew -




Andrew Rich VK4TEC
www.tech-software.net
 
djuqa

Guru

Joined: 23/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 447
Posted: 06:28am 24 Mar 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

No worries Mate
All good.
Geoffg designed the mini with separate section for VGA/KB for exactly that reason
Use it or leave it out if not needed.
DM mini regular is the same and has a daughter board with the video/audio/KB connectors
So in final application can be removed or remotely fitted.

Once Mini-MM is up and running you may have to update the firmware to latest version 3.1.

The download links you need at Geoffg.net .

P.S. I am available on skype as DJUQA_Support.
Edited by djuqa 2012-03-25
VK4MU MicroController Units

 
vk4tec

Senior Member

Joined: 24/03/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 239
Posted: 06:48am 24 Mar 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I think my SD CARD slot can go where the space is at the end of the miniMaximite

Will connect VGA and KB as needed.

I have mapped out my LED usage. GPS, SD Card in use light.

I think I might write AUTORUN.BAS onto the SD CARD as well.

I have a mate with interests in UAV and video - hence the VGA interest. (ATV)

These boards are awesome - they get over the hurdle alot of people starting out have - programming the CHIP and the code.

I was taught PIC in Assembly and understand the REGISTERS.

I have another project pending - 7 Segment GPS clock

Will report back with results soon (ish)

- Andrew -






Andrew Rich VK4TEC
www.tech-software.net
 
vk4tec

Senior Member

Joined: 24/03/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 239
Posted: 07:38am 24 Mar 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Guys,

What are your thoughts on getting 3.3 volts from a voltage divider from 5 volts ?

I see that the prefered method is a VREG LM317 etc

I need some 5 volts which will be dead on for other parts of a CCT ie Regulated.

I see the MiniMaximite wants 2.3 to 3.6 V ( or says the notes that came with it )

I will check the PIC datasheets. for the PIC32MX795F521H-80I/PT. and PIC32MX695F512H-80I/PT voltage limits.

- Andrew -



Andrew Rich VK4TEC
www.tech-software.net
 
djuqa

Guru

Joined: 23/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 447
Posted: 07:57am 24 Mar 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Really need to use a LM1117 3.3v or similar regulator.
This can use the 5v Rail as the input.
The SD CARD needs at least 2.9v to be reliable.

VK4MU MicroController Units

 
vk4tec

Senior Member

Joined: 24/03/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 239
Posted: 07:59am 24 Mar 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hey it just dawned on me

5 volts through a diode of 1.7 volts drop = 3.3 volts


Andrew Rich VK4TEC
www.tech-software.net
 
bigmik

Guru

Joined: 20/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2914
Posted: 10:10am 24 Mar 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  vk4tec said   Hey it just dawned on me

5 volts through a diode of 1.7 volts drop = 3.3 volts



Voltage divider is a NO-GO as the voltage will fluctuate depending on the load the MM draws... and current needed to go through the divider means you will be drawing a fair bit of current just due to the divider..

Rectifiers tend to drop .6-.7V so you would need to use 3 in series and get between 2.9V and 3.2V (depending on the specifics of the rectifiers).. better off using a regulator or using the miniMaximite in another application and getting a DM mini or DM Standard (or Mega if you want the RS232). IMHO

Regards,

Mick
Mick's uMite Stuff can be found >>> HERE (Kindly hosted by Dontronics) <<<
 
vk4tec

Senior Member

Joined: 24/03/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 239
Posted: 11:23am 24 Mar 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Mick

Duino seems the go


Andrew Rich VK4TEC
www.tech-software.net
 
vk4tec

Senior Member

Joined: 24/03/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 239
Posted: 10:25pm 24 Mar 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Guys I am a bit confused over the SD card size on the duino mini and standard

Micro SD

Is that the one that fits in a transflash carrier board to make it into a standard SD size card ?

I read the duino docs from front to back and am quite excited about what they can do.

I also need to work out 20x4 LCD

I also gave a 8x7 LED with MAX chip I need to work out

I see the duinos can even charge a LIPO

Yeah mick the mega was a bit large for me

My GPS is UART compatible TTL

Today I will code up GPS_SD

In anticipation of arrival on duino mini and standard

Andrew Rich VK4TEC
www.tech-software.net
 
djuqa

Guru

Joined: 23/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 447
Posted: 10:40pm 24 Mar 2012
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thread Discussing 20x4 LCD usage.

The OLIMEX Duinomite range uses the MicroSD format Card as does the CGMMStick. Yes, this is the card Form-Factor that needs an adaptor to fit in standard SD/TF sockets.
These cards and adaptors are readily available.

VK4MU MicroController Units

 
     Page 1 of 2    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2024