Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 00:31 25 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : (MM DM) Screen Saver for Video

     Page 1 of 2    
Author Message
DuinoMiteMegaAn
Senior Member

Joined: 17/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 231
Posted: 03:01pm 07 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I would like to keep the present data on the video screen and
also have the screen protected from "burn in" with the help of a MMBasic command.

Any suggestions welcome


Note: It is the philosopy of the MaxiMite to used as cheap as video monitor
to work with the PIC32 BUT there are some users that need to protect their
newer video screens from burn-in.

Of course I could just reduce the intensity and brightness manually but
I need an automatic solution.

Edited by DuinoMiteMegaAn 2011-12-09
 
Vikingboy
Regular Member

Joined: 23/09/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 82
Posted: 03:10pm 07 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi,

I wrote a simple clock for mine when it was just sitting doing nothing else, to prevent burn in I simply used the inkey$ command , the screen is blanked after a fixed time and to view again you just need to hit any key. You could probably use the timer interupt or something like that to regularly check for keyboard activity before blanking the screen if you are running a more interactive program.

rgds,

Andrew
 
DuinoMiteMegaAn
Senior Member

Joined: 17/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 231
Posted: 03:39pm 07 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Any code snippet?
 
Olimex
Senior Member

Joined: 02/10/2011
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 226
Posted: 03:41pm 07 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I do wonder if people still use CRT VGA monitors anywhere :)
LCDs are so cheap today they completely replaced the CRT monitors
 
DuinoMiteMegaAn
Senior Member

Joined: 17/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 231
Posted: 03:45pm 07 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Are you saying by having a LCD monitor you don't need burn-in protection?
 
camfab
Newbie

Joined: 10/09/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 13
Posted: 06:40pm 07 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

the "twinkle" demo code ,from geoff's site, http://geoffg.net/maximite.html, at the bottom under downloads "MMBasic Library V1.6 - User written programs for the Maximite" is a random pixel on/off program that gives a very effective screen. it would be a very suitable basis for a screen saver, just ask microsoft!!!Edited by camfab 2011-12-09
Fre Sprky
///...///

 
brucepython

Regular Member

Joined: 19/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 64
Posted: 07:49pm 07 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

This is a bit simpler and works on any sized screen:

10 ' Random twinkles
20 x=RND()*MM.HRES:y=RND()*MM.VRES
30 PIXEL(x,y)=NOT(PIXEL(x,y))
40 GOTO 20

 
DuinoMiteMegaAn
Senior Member

Joined: 17/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 231
Posted: 10:58pm 07 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

10 ' Random twinkles
20 x=RND()*MM.HRES:y=RND()*MM.VRES
30 PIXEL(x,y)=NOT(PIXEL(x,y))
40 GOTO 20


Very cool twinkle screen saver
But it covers up the text data present
on the screen which I do need to review!
 
MM_Wombat
Senior Member

Joined: 12/12/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 139
Posted: 07:22pm 12 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Could you do a "savebmp 'Screensave.bmp'" command and use the bmpshow program in the maximite library to reload when review is needed...

Keep plugging away, it is fun learning
But can be expensive (if you keep blowing things up).

Maximite, ColourMaximite, MM+
 
brucepython

Regular Member

Joined: 19/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 64
Posted: 08:04pm 12 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Saving a BMP of the screen would preserve the display, but not the information.
You certainly could reload the BMP of the screen (assuming you didn't fall asleep waiting for it to reload) but it would only be an image, not the editable text you were working with previously.

Bruce
Edited by brucepython 2011-12-14
 
DuinoMiteMegaAn
Senior Member

Joined: 17/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 231
Posted: 03:23am 13 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Saving to a bitmap is like putting the cart before the horse!

I have no idea when data will arrive on the video screen,
so really doing a BMP save will not help. Guess the only solution
is to reduce the video brightness and intensity manually the old fashion way.
 
pcaffalldavis

Senior Member

Joined: 17/10/2011
Location: United States
Posts: 187
Posted: 04:42am 13 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Viking boy,

Could you post the code for your clock? It sounds interesting.

Pete in Hyder
We're all here 'cause we're not all there.
 
aargee
Senior Member

Joined: 21/08/2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 255
Posted: 09:36am 13 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Why not switch a transistor to earth in the video line?

< This bit is sad - sent while waiting for the Cold Chisel concert to start! >
For crying out loud, all I wanted to do was flash this blasted LED.
 
Vikingboy
Regular Member

Joined: 23/09/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 82
Posted: 03:30pm 14 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi,

Sorry I have been busy finalizing my CNC project and havn't been around here in a while, Re my clock code, as I said it is very simple it just clears the screen until a key is pressed and then displays the time again (for around 4 seconds) enough to check the time, then clears it again.

I think the problem is that it all really depends on your code and your requirements for viewing the data etc, can you give a better description of what it is exactly you are doing or maybe post at least a cut down version which demonstrates the principal of your code, then I could give a try at incorporating something that may work for you.

rgds,

Andrew
 
DuinoMiteMegaAn
Senior Member

Joined: 17/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 231
Posted: 04:08am 15 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

All I am doing is using the video to collect process data.
I was hoping to have a screen saver that would blank the screen and
with a keypress restore my process data text. For the looks of it
I really don't think it could be done on the MM/DM?
 
Vikingboy
Regular Member

Joined: 23/09/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 82
Posted: 04:48am 15 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post


When you say 'process data' do you mean current information eg the voltage on pin 12 now, or do you mean historical data eg the voltage on pin 12 for the last 2 hours ?
the first is easy ,it could work like my clock, the second is harder as you need to restore the data by either saving to an array or sdcard and then re-displaying, I think either could be done, but it really is quite dependent on the application.

Andrew
 
DuinoMiteMegaAn
Senior Member

Joined: 17/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 231
Posted: 02:50am 16 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

OK, its very simple, I want the video screen saver to mimic the screen saver on any PC. Any data on the screen will be retained after any wake-up key is pressed. From the looks of this feature, it can only be done in firmware? Cheers
Edited by DuinoMiteMegaAn 2011-12-17
 
Keith @

Senior Member

Joined: 19/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 167
Posted: 03:30am 16 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  DuinoMiteMegaAn said   All I am doing is using the video to collect process data.
I was hoping to have a screen saver that would blank the screen and
with a keypress restore my process data text. For the looks of it
I really don't think it could be done on the MM/DM?


I can think of one very simple way to do this and don't take this the wrong way it is a very valid simple suggestion.

Turn the monitor off when you want to invoke the 'screensaver' and turn the monitor on when you want to restore the screen data.

Keith
The more we know, the more we know we don't know !
 
aargee
Senior Member

Joined: 21/08/2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 255
Posted: 07:02am 16 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

OK, spell it out...

Connect a BC548 transistor from the video out line to earth, then drive it with one of the MM I/O lines via a 1k resistor. Just switch it on and off in software to give you your screen blanking.

- Rob.


For crying out loud, all I wanted to do was flash this blasted LED.
 
DuinoMiteMegaAn
Senior Member

Joined: 17/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 231
Posted: 10:48am 16 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I can think of one very simple way to do this and don't take this the wrong way it is a very valid simple suggestion.

Turn the monitor off when you want to invoke the 'screensaver' and turn the monitor on when you want to restore the screen data.



On page one, of this topic, I got you covered Keith ...

Of course I could just reduce the intensity and brightness manually but
I need an automatic solution.


Breaking news ... Ken has already made a screen saver in firmware.
"Added screen saver to setup 5-60 in 5 minute increments see menu below"


DuinoMite Setup Menu - V1.4 Dec 15 2011
-----------------------------------------
Hardware Platform - DuinoMite
V) Video Mode - NTSC - 480
R) RTC On Boot - PCF8563
D) Date Format - MM/DD/YY
T) Show Time Date - Enabled
N) Screen Saver - 15 Minutes <-------<<<<<<
S) SD Card - Enabled
U) Usb Console - Disabled
C) Serial Console - Com3:
B) Baud Rate - 115200
M) Custom Video Mode
P) Print Custom Video Mode
-----------------------------------------
Q) Quit Dont Save Settings
X) Exit Save Settings


What about the MaxiMite users ?Edited by DuinoMiteMegaAn 2011-12-17
 
     Page 1 of 2    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2024