Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 20:44 22 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PicoMiteHDMI: Color Cycle Animation

     Page 1 of 2    
Author Message
Martin H.

Guru

Joined: 04/06/2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 1113
Posted: 12:18pm 16 Oct 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Animation using MAP Command

'HDMI only
MODE 2:CLS
Dim integer col(15):Restore colors:For f=1 To 15:Read col(f):Next
Dim integer mp(15,3)
Map reset:Map set
For CL=0 To 15
   x=20*CL
   Box x,0,20,128,,col(cl),col(cl)
       For n=0 To 127 Step 2
         If cl Then
           For c=0 To 9 Step 2
             Pixel x+c+10,n,col(cl+(CL<15))
             Pixel x+c+11,n+1,col(cl+(CL<15))
           Next
        End If
        If cl<15 Then
         Circle 40,180,40-(cl*2),,,col(15-cl),Col(15-cl)
         Circle 280,180,40-(cl*2),,,col(15-cl),Col(15-cl)
        End If
        Circle 160,180,40-(cl*2),,,col(cl),Col(cl)
       Next
Next
Print @(96,130); "Mode 2 color cycling"
Do
For r=0 To 255 Step 8
 For g=0 To 255 Step 8
   For b=0 To 255 Step 8
       For n=1 To 14
         mp(n,0)=mp(n+1,0)
         mp(n,1)=mp(n+1,1)
         mp(n,2)=mp(n+1,2)
         Map(n)=RGB(mp(n,0),mp(n,1),mp(n,2))
       Next
      Map(15)=RGB(r,g,b)
      mp(15,0)=r:mp(15,1)=g:mp(15,2)=b
       Map set
       'Pause 10
       FRAMEBUFFER wait
     Next
   Next
 Next
Loop
colors:
'--Colorscheme accordung to Screencolors

 Data RGB(BLUE),RGB(MYRTLE),RGB(COBALT) ,RGB(MIDGREEN),RGB(CERULEAN)
 Data RGB(GREEN),RGB(CYAN),RGB(RED)
 Data RGB(MAGENTA),RGB(RUST),RGB(FUCHSIA),RGB(BROWN),RGB(LILAC)
 Data RGB(YELLOW),RGB(WHITE)

Edited 2024-10-17 01:12 by Martin H.
'no comment
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2109
Posted: 03:46pm 16 Oct 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

impressive. is it 256 shades of grey?
 
Martin H.

Guru

Joined: 04/06/2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 1113
Posted: 04:55pm 16 Oct 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

no just Mode 2 ,so just 16 Colors at once ..
It just counts through all possible RGB values and change the “MAP” entry accordingly
Edited 2024-10-17 02:55 by Martin H.
'no comment
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2109
Posted: 05:15pm 16 Oct 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

er , it was a joke , 50 shades of grey, never seen it.
mode 2 hdmi vs mode 2 vga. vga can run mode 2 faster, pico 2350 usb
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9087
Posted: 05:31pm 16 Oct 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  mode 2 hdmi vs mode 2 vga. vga can run mode 2 faster


VGA only has 16 fixed colours
HDMI mode 2 (or 3) has any 16 out of 32768 as in the animation
HDMI mode 4 can show all 32768 colours at the same time
HDMI mode 5 can show any 256 out of 32768 at the same time
Edited 2024-10-17 03:33 by matherp
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2109
Posted: 06:18pm 16 Oct 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  
  Quote  mode 2 hdmi vs mode 2 vga. vga can run mode 2 faster


VGA only has 16 fixed colours
HDMI mode 2 (or 3) has any 16 out of 32768 as in the animation
HDMI mode 4 can show all 32768 colours at the same time
HDMI mode 5 can show any 256 out of 32768 at the same time


I think it's brill. using optimex 2350 hdmi.
testing existing code 2040 vga.
this vga example to test mode 2 hdmi and not the same, slower and sprite colours wrong.
try this code on vga and hdmi to see.

'vga 320x240 mode 2 sprites
mode 2
OPTION BASE 0        ' 0 based arrays
option DEFAULT INTEGER
OPTION EXPLICIT

dim dx(15),dy(15),spx(15),spy(15)
dim cannon(119),missile(15),oldspx(15),oldspy(15)
dim ptr,hiscore,spw,spht,temp,frame,frame_count,spdata,sp1
hiscore=0

'colour shortcuts
const WH =RGB(255,  255,  255) 'WHITE
const YE =RGB(255,  255,    0) 'YELLOW
const LI =RGB(255,  128,  255) 'LILAC
const BR =RGB(255,  128,    0) 'BROWN
const FU =RGB(255,  64,   255) 'FUCHSIA
const RU =RGB(255,  64,     0) 'RUST
const MA =RGB(255,  0,    255) 'MAGENTA
const RE =RGB(255,  0,      0) 'RED
const CY =RGB(0,    255,  255) 'CYAN
const GR =RGB(0,    255,    0) 'GREEN
const CE =RGB(0,    128,  255) 'CERULEAN
const MI =RGB(0,    128,    0) 'MIDGREEN
const CO =RGB(0,    64,   255) 'COBALT
const MY =RGB(0,    64,     0) 'MYRTLE
const BL =RGB(0,    0,    255) 'BLUE
const Bk =RGB(0,    0,      0) 'BLACK
const Gy =RGB(128,  128,  128) 'GREY
const Lg =RGB(210,  210,  210) 'LITEGREY
const Og =RGB(255,  165,    0) 'ORANGE
const PK =RGB(255,  160,  171) 'PINK
const Gd =RGB(255,  215,    0) 'GOLD
const SA =RGB(250,  128,  114) 'SALMON
const BE =RGB(245,  245,  220) 'BEIGE
'
cls
restore sprite1
udg1 'draws sprite1 on screen at 10,10
sprite READ 1,10,10,16,16 'reads sprite1 from screen to blit buffer1
restore sprite2
udg1 'draws sprite2 on screen at 10,10
sprite read 2,10,10,16,16 'reads sprite2 from screen to blit buffer2
'
for temp=0 to 15 'set up start sprite positions and directions

 spx(temp)=(mm.hres /2)-32+int(rnd*64)
 spy(temp)=(mm.vres /2)-20+int(rnd*40)    
do :dx(temp)=int(rnd*5)-int(rnd*9):loop until dx(temp)<>0
do :dy(temp)=int(rnd*5)-int(rnd*9):loop until dy(temp)<>0

next temp
'
FRAMEBUFFER CREATE F

 FRAMEBUFFER WRITE f

do 'demo moving sprite
 
 cls RGB(black)
   for temp=0 to 15
'        if sprite_status(temp)=1 then 'is sprite active
           if spx(temp)> mm.hres-32 then 'check right edge
             dx(temp)= 0-dx(temp)
           elseif spx(temp)<16 then 'check left edge
             dx(temp)= 0-dx(temp)
           end if
           if spy(temp)>mm.vres-32 then 'check bottom edge
             dy(temp)= 0-dy(temp)
           elseif spy(temp)<16 then 'check top edge
             dy(temp)= 0-dy(temp)
           end if
     '
           spx(temp)=spx(temp)+dx(temp):spy(temp)=spy(temp)+dy(temp) 'get new position for draw
     '
               if frame=0 then'which sprite to draw
                 sprite WRITE 1,spx(temp),spy(temp) 'draw sprite1 at new position
               else
                 sprite WRITE 2,spx(temp),spy(temp) 'draw sprite2 at new position
               end if
   next temp
 
 FRAMEBUFFER COPY f,N
'
   frame_count=frame_count+1 'when to change sprite
   if frame_count=10 then
     frame=not frame
     frame_count=0
   end if
   pause 50
loop
'
sub udg1 'draws 16x16 data for blit to copy
 for spht=0 to 15
   for spw=0 to 15
     read sp1
     pixel spw+10,spht+10,sp1
   next spw
 next spht
end sub
'
sprite1:
data wh,bl,bl,bl,bl,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bl,bl,bl,bl,wh
data bk,bl,re,re,re,bl,bl,bk,bk,bl,bl,re,re,re,bl,bk
data bk,bk,bk,bl,re,wh,bl,bk,bk,bl,wh,re,bl,bk,bk,bk
data bk,bk,bk,bl,re,wh,bl,bk,bk,bl,wh,re,bl,bk,bk,bk
data bk,bk,bk,bk,bl,wh,bl,bk,bk,bl,wh,bl,bk,bk,bk,bk
data bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bl,bl,bk,bk,bl,bl,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk
data bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk
data bk,bk,bk,bk,ye,ye,ye,bk,bk,ye,ye,ye,bk,bk,bk,bk
data bk,bk,bk,ye,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,ye,bk,bk,bk
data bk,ye,ye,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,ye,ye,bk
data bk,ye,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,ye,bk
data ye,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bl,ye
data ye,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,ye
data ye,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,ye
data bk,ye,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,ye,bk
data bk,bk,ye,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,ye,bk,bk
sprite2:
data bl,bl,bl,bl,bl,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bl,bl,bl,bl,bl
data bk,bl,re,re,re,bl,bl,bk,bk,bl,bl,re,re,re,bl,bk
data bk,bk,bl,wh,wh,re,bl,bk,bk,bl,re,wh,wh,bl,bk,bk
data bk,bk,bk,bl,re,wh,bl,bk,bk,bl,wh,re,bl,bk,bk,bk
data bk,bk,bk,bk,bl,wh,bl,bk,bk,bl,wh,bl,bk,bk,bk,bk
data bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bl,bl,bk,bk,bl,bl,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk
data bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,ye,ye,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk
data bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,ye,ye,bk,bk,ye,ye,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk
data bk,bk,bk,bk,ye,ye,bk,bk,bk,bk,ye,ye,bk,bk,bk,bk
data bk,bk,bk,bk,ye,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,ye,bk,bk,bk,bk
data bk,bk,bk,ye,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,ye,bk,bk,bk
data bk,bk,ye,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,ye,bk,bk
data bk,bk,bk,ye,ye,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,ye,ye,bk,bk,bk
data bk,bk,bk,bk,ye,ye,bk,bk,bk,bk,ye,ye,bk,bk,bk,bk
data bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,ye,bk,bk,bk,bk,ye,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk
data bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,ye,bk,bk,ye,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk
'cannon
data bk,bk,bk,bk,bk,wh,wh,bk,bk,bk,bk,bk
data bk,bk,bk,bk,ye,cy,cy,ye,bk,bk,bk,bk
data bk,bk,bk,ye,cy,wh,wh,cy,ye,bk,bk,bk
data bk,bk,bk,ye,cy,cy,cy,cy,ye,bk,bk,bk
data bk,bk,ye,ye,cy,wh,wh,cy,ye,ye,bk,bk
data bk,bk,ye,cy,cy,cy,cy,cy,cy,ye,bk,bk
data bk,ye,bl,bl,bl,re,re,bl,bl,bl,ye,bk
data ye,ye,bl,bl,bl,re,re,bl,bl,bl,ye,ye
data bk,bk,ye,re,re,re,re,re,re,ye,bk,bk
data bk,bk,bk,ye,fu,fu,fu,fu,ye,bk,bk,bk
'missile
data wh,wh,re,re,ye,ye,wh,wh,wh,wh,ye,ye,re,re,wh,wh

 
Martin H.

Guru

Joined: 04/06/2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 1113
Posted: 08:01pm 16 Oct 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Stan,
Since the values of the colors are hardwired on PicomiteVGA, it is of course not possible to create other colors via software.
In my setups I don't have much difference with the RGB 121 colors between Micomite VGA and DVI/HDMI.  
The VGA colors can vary a little depending on the setup, as the resistors also have a tolerance and the AD-Converter in monitors also can “interpret” this differently.
DVI/HDMI send the color values digitally to the monitor, which then displays the colors. Here, of course, we have the option of adding more simultaneous colors, but this would mean that much more Screenmemory would be required for the image.
The generation via the MAP command is a compromise, similar to the Atari ST LOW-RES mode. No extra memory is required for the screen, but the data in there are only pointers to a color palette. Here you have the choice of many more colors (RGB555) but only 16 at a time.

My animation takes advantage of this by generating the image only once, but then changing the color palette again and again.
That wouldn't work on the PicomiteVGA.
Edited 2024-10-17 06:12 by Martin H.
'no comment
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2109
Posted: 08:19pm 16 Oct 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

yes, I got vga is 16 colours, plenty.
In the case of VGA, the hardware is limited to the 16 colours defined by the resistor network.
In the case of HDMI each of the 16 colours can be mapped to any RGB555 colour. Use MAP GREYSCALE to have 16 shades of grey from black to white available.

I don't understand rgb555 colour... or the other rgb modes. vga seemed easier if the 16 colours can be defined with RGB(255,  64,   255)
https://www.thebackshed.com/forum/ViewTopic.php?TID=17173&P=8#225819
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2109
Posted: 08:30pm 16 Oct 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

and map works vga

'map swithing demo
Dim integer cmap(13)

'Clear the screen
MODE 2
Map reset
CLS rgb(black)

'Set up colours in the array
cmap(1)=RGB(white)
cmap(2)=RGB(black)
cmap(3)=RGB(black)
cmap(4)=RGB(black)
cmap(5)=RGB(black)
cmap(6)=RGB(black)

cmap(7)=RGB(white)
cmap(8)=RGB(black)
cmap(9)=RGB(black)
cmap(10)=RGB(black)
cmap(11)=RGB(black)
cmap(12)=RGB(black)

' Do an initial update of the Colour map to set up our colours
domap

hline=76:hy=1:mch=1
line 0,75,319,75,,RGB(white)

do'draw horizontal lines
 line 0,hline,319,hline,,map(mch)
 inc mch:if mch=7 then mch=1
 hline=hline+hy:hy=hy+0.6
loop until hline>240

xb=-149:xt=10:mch=7
do'draw vertical lines
 line xb,239,xt,75,,map(mch)
 inc mch:if mch=13 then mch=7
 xb=xb+8:xt=xt+4
loop until xb>=479

'
lr=0
do
cmap(0)=cmap(6)
 For i=5 To 0 Step -1' move horizontal lines
   cmap(i+1)=cmap(i)
 Next

 if lr<40 then
 cmap(6)=cmap(12)
 For i=11 To 6 Step -1' move vertical lines
   cmap(i+1)=cmap(i)
 Next
 else
 cmap(12)=cmap(7)
 For i=7 To 12' move vertical lines
   cmap(i)=cmap(i+1)
 Next
 end if
 inc lr:if lr>80 then lr=0

 domap
 pause 100
loop

end

Sub domap
Local integer i
Map (0)=RGB(black)
For i=1 To 12
  Map (i)=cmap(i)
Next
Map set
End Sub

 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6764
Posted: 08:38pm 16 Oct 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

RGBxyz refers to the number of bits available for each colour. So, for example, RGB222 would have 2 bits each for red, green and blue. That would give you off+3 brightness levels for each colour because 2 bits counts up 0-1-2-3.

RGB555 gives you 5 bits for each colour. That's off+31 brightness levels for each.

If you multiply the possibilities that gives you the total number of colours you can get:
RGB222 = 4 x 4 x 4 = 64 colours
RGB121 (our standard "VGA" Mode 2) = 2 x 4 x 2 = 16 colours
RGB555 = 32 x 32 x 32 = 32768 colours
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2109
Posted: 09:54pm 16 Oct 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

box don't fill.thought I had box fill sorted
mode 2
OPTION EXPLICIT
OPTION DEFAULT NONE

dim r%,g%,b%,count1%
mode 2:cls rgb(black)
for count1%=0 to 255
 r%=count1%
 box 100,100,60,60,1,rgb(r%,g%,b%),rgb(r%,g%,b%)
pause 100
next
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2109
Posted: 10:10pm 16 Oct 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

hdmi on olimex. for beginner, nice. thanks to matherp for making possible and know there's other designs but £17 total ,postage and tax is good if you ever wired pico and sd card reader and audio filter and 3.5 jack and vga socket.
olimex is so easy to use 2350 and hdmi.
ready made alternatives? ebay?
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2133
Posted: 10:20pm 16 Oct 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Box fill works on PicoMiteVGA MMBasic RP2350A Edition V6.00.00RC8
Dim r%,g%,b%,count1%
MODE 2:CLS RGB(black)
For r%=0 To 255 Step 255
 For g%=0 To 255 Step 64
  For b%=0 To 255 Step 255
   Box 100,100,60,60,1,RGB(r%,g%,b%),RGB(r%,g%,b%)
   Pause 1000
  Next
 Next
Next

Edited 2024-10-17 08:30 by phil99
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2109
Posted: 10:43pm 16 Oct 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  phil99 said  Box fill works on PicoMiteVGA MMBasic RP2350A Edition V6.00.00RC8
Dim r%,g%,b%,count1%
MODE 2:CLS RGB(black)
For r%=0 To 255 Step 255
 For g%=0 To 255 Step 64
  For b%=0 To 255 Step 255
   Box 100,100,60,60,1,RGB(r%,g%,b%),RGB(r%,g%,b%)
   Pause 1000
  Next
 Next
Next

er? not hdmi
Edited 2024-10-17 08:55 by stanleyella
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2133
Posted: 11:37pm 16 Oct 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The point is the Box command is exactly the same as in your program and it works.
The box is filled with the same colour as its border.
 
JohnS
Guru

Joined: 18/11/2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3797
Posted: 07:24am 17 Oct 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  stanleyella said  
  phil99 said  Box fill works on PicoMiteVGA MMBasic RP2350A Edition V6.00.00RC8
Dim r%,g%,b%,count1%
MODE 2:CLS RGB(black)
For r%=0 To 255 Step 255
 For g%=0 To 255 Step 64
  For b%=0 To 255 Step 255
   Box 100,100,60,60,1,RGB(r%,g%,b%),RGB(r%,g%,b%)
   Pause 1000
  Next
 Next
Next

er? not hdmi

Are you saying that with the right firmware correctly installed that Box does not fill with HDMI?

I am (very) doubtful that you'd be right if so but be sure to report the version and Options with a short test program.

John
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2109
Posted: 05:41pm 17 Oct 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

dim r%,g%,b%,count1%
mode 2:cls rgb(black)
for count1%=0 to 255
b%=count1%
text 0,0,str$(count1%)
box 100,100,60,60,1,rgb(white),rgb(r%,g%,b%)
pause 1000
next

red box at 128
green box at 64 and lite green box at 128
blue box at 128
same as vga mode2 but hdmi mode 2
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2133
Posted: 08:57pm 17 Oct 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

That is how it is meant to be, except when g%=count% it is:-
dark green box at 64, mid green at 128 and light green box at 192, though the visible difference between  mid and bright green is small. The reason for that is the colour scale is in linear steps but our vision is logarithmic.

It's 4 bit colour RGB121, Blue and Red are 1 bit each so any value up to 127 = &B0 = off and 128 to 255 = &B1 = on.
Green has 2 bits so:-
0 to 63 = &B00 = off
64 to 127 = &B01 = dark green
128 to 191 = &B10 = mid green
192 to 255 = &B11 = bright green
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2109
Posted: 09:44pm 17 Oct 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

hdmi mode 5 is more like 3 blue,7 green,7 red same code.
getting the drift now.. I think. thanks, stan
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 2133
Posted: 11:09pm 17 Oct 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

If you want to know exactly how many colour steps there are in each mode this colour counter will do the job.
'A Display colour counter
MODE 2 '<-----------------Select the mode to test
CLS RGB(white) : Option Base 0
Dim String S$(2) = (" Blues", " Greens", " Reds")
Dim Integer a, b, c, d
For a = 0 To 2 'cycle through blue , green and red
b = 0        'initialize colour count
For c = 0 To 255 'set the brightness
 d = c << (a * 8) 'make a 24bit colour
 Line c, 1+a*9, c, 9+a*9, 1, d    'send it to a line
'  Pixel c, 9+a*9, d    'send it to a pixel
 If d = Pixel(c, 9+a*9) Then  'read that pixel back from the screen
  Inc b  'if the colour is the same as the one sent count it
 EndIf
Next
Print b; S$(a) 'show  counted colours
Next
End

Edited 2024-10-18 10:59 by phil99
 
     Page 1 of 2    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2024