Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 02:53 29 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Micromite beta 8

     Page 2 of 2    
Author Message
BobD

Guru

Joined: 07/12/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 935
Posted: 11:51am 03 Mar 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  robert.rozee said   Rev. 10 — 3 April 2012, the first result google throws out.

Rob, thanks I have it. I just checked my PCF8583 datasheet and it was even older.
 
palcal

Guru

Joined: 12/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1873
Posted: 02:58pm 03 Mar 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Using the example code for SPI on page 47 I changed the pin in line one to Pin(15)
and I get an error 'invalid pin'. Page 6 says Pin(15) can be used for Digital I/O.
Paul.
"It is better to be ignorant and ask a stupid question than to be plain Stupid and not ask at all"
 
Geoffg

Guru

Joined: 06/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 3196
Posted: 03:39pm 03 Mar 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  palcal said   Using the example code for SPI on page 47 I changed the pin in line one to Pin(15)
and I get an error 'invalid pin'. Page 6 says Pin(15) can be used for Digital I/O.
Paul.

Are you running the latest beta? Pin 15 did not work with one of the earlier versions.

Geoff
Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net
 
palcal

Guru

Joined: 12/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1873
Posted: 04:16pm 03 Mar 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

No. Running Beta7
Will load Beta8.
Paul.
"It is better to be ignorant and ask a stupid question than to be plain Stupid and not ask at all"
 
Geoffg

Guru

Joined: 06/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 3196
Posted: 05:31pm 03 Mar 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hmm, from memory beta 7 fixed that issue. Try it with beta 8 and if it still does not work distil the problem down to a few lines of code and post it here. Then I can test it.

I can use pin 15 on beta 8 with no issues.

Geoff
Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6101
Posted: 06:45pm 03 Mar 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

LINE INPUT #nbr ...
waits for a LF character rather than a CR.
My preference would be for either CR or LF
(I am a Windows programmer after all...)

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
palcal

Guru

Joined: 12/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1873
Posted: 07:57pm 03 Mar 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Geoff,
Dim arg$(20)
SetPin 15,8:Pin(15) = 1
SPI OPEN 5000000, 3, 8
Pin(15) = 0
b=SPI(&h3b)


I switched to Pin(10) and the code is OK. But with Pin(15) I get the error message 'Invalid Pin'. I'm now using Beta8.
Paul.
"It is better to be ignorant and ask a stupid question than to be plain Stupid and not ask at all"
 
WhiteWizzard
Guru

Joined: 05/04/2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2817
Posted: 10:31pm 03 Mar 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Paul,

Please clarify: Are you using a PIC32MX250 or PIC32MX[B150?

I believe Pins 15 & 23 are not available for use on the MX250.
For everything Micromite visit micromite.org

Direct Email: whitewizzard@micromite.o
 
palcal

Guru

Joined: 12/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1873
Posted: 10:37pm 03 Mar 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks WhiteWizzard, I was using the 150s and had one 250 which I started to use and forgot about Pins 15 & 23.

Paul.
"It is better to be ignorant and ask a stupid question than to be plain Stupid and not ask at all"
 
Geoffg

Guru

Joined: 06/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 3196
Posted: 12:04am 04 Mar 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  TassyJim said   LINE INPUT #nbr ...
waits for a LF character rather than a CR.
My preference would be for either CR or LF
(I am a Windows programmer after all...)

Jim

Good point, another thing to hunt down.

Geoff
Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6101
Posted: 11:44am 04 Mar 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

There is a problem displaying negative numbers.

for n = -2 to 2
print n
print str$(n)
print
next n

for n = 2 to -2 step -1
print n
print str$(n)
print
next n


and then try:
PRINT -1

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Geoffg

Guru

Joined: 06/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 3196
Posted: 02:53pm 04 Mar 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Yes, there is a serious bug in beta 8 regarding printing numbers. I introduced it while implementing the extensions to the STR$() function

I hope to have a new release out soon that fixes that bug and also terminates a LINE INPUT on a carriage return (or line feed).

Thanks for the reports,
Geoff
Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net
 
Geoffg

Guru

Joined: 06/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 3196
Posted: 05:01pm 06 Mar 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Check your inboxes as I have just sent out beta 9.

This fixes a bug with printing negative numbers which caused serious mayhem. Also fixed is a bug which caused pin 2 and 3 on the 28 pin chip and pins 19 and 20 on the 44 pin chip to act strange when I2C was used.

Other, less important fixes are:
- LINE INPUT from a serial port now terminates on a carriage return.
- You can specify a negative number for the second argument of the extended STR$() function. This will force the display of a + sign as well as padding with space characters as before.

Geoff

Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net
 
     Page 2 of 2    
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024