Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : MM Edit Linux & Wine
Author | Message | ||||
vk2sja Newbie Joined: 07/06/2013 Location: AustraliaPosts: 26 |
With many thanks to Jim VK7JH (TassyJim). Not sure if this has been covered before but for those interested "MM Edit" seems to run fine under Linux using Wine. At least I can transfer files and edit them (Disclaimer: minimal testing). Very terse instructions:- (I'm using a Debian based distro. If your using something else then appropriate adjustments will need to be made to some of the following. Also assumes that the Linux PC has an internet connection) Make sure you can see the Maximite USB serial port and know what it is called:- $tail -f /var/log/syslog Jul 15 14:23:33 Vostro kernel: [21454.567796] cdc_acm 5-1:1.0: This device cannot do calls on its own. It is not a modem. Jul 15 14:23:33 Vostro kernel: [21454.567827] cdc_acm 5-1:1.0: ttyACM0: USB ACM device ... In this case after plugging in the USB cable we can see that the port we are after is ttyACM0. Note this for later. If you don't already have Wine installed then install it. $sudo apt-get install wine Download the "MM Edit" MMedit_setup.exe setup program from:- http://www.c-com.com.au/MMedit.htm (Don't forget to donate some beer money if you find it useful!!!) Now install it. $wine ./MMedit_setup.exe Of interest I'm running Wine version 1.4 $wine --version wine-1.4 Now sort out the serial port so that Wine can reference it as a DOS COM port:- $ln -s /dev/ttyACMO ~/.wine/dosdevices/com7 The ttyACMO is the device noted in step one. COM7 is 'pick a free COM port, any old COM port will do'. On my machine "MM Edit" seemed to default to COM7 so I used that one. A normal user needs permission to use a COM port. $sudo gpasswd -a username dialout Where username is your Linux login name and the "dialout" is the group on your system that has permission to use the serial ports. Check to see which group on your system with:- $ls -al /dev/ttyACM0 crw-rw---- 1 root dialout 166, 0 Jul 15 14:55 /dev/ttyACM0 This one...........^^^^^ That should have been enough. It wasn't. Sod it! $sudo chmod 777 /dev/ttyACM0 $ls -al /dev/ttyACM0 crwxrwxrwx 1 root dialout 166, 0 Jul 15 14:55 /dev/ttyACM0 /dev/ttyACM0 is now wide open with global permissions. But I'm not too worried about the security implications of a world writable COM port. "MM Edit" now runs a treat! I'm running "MM Edit" from the distro's graphical menu (Wine added it "automagicly" on installation) but from the command line it would be something like: $wine ~/.wine/drive_c/Program\ Files/CCom/MMedit/MMedit.exe (assuming you installed it with defaults). Thanks Jim!! |
||||
JohnS Guru Joined: 18/11/2011 Location: United KingdomPosts: 3816 |
I think the reason adding dialout wasn't enough is that you need to re-login. You shouldn't need the chmod 777 John |
||||
vk2sja Newbie Joined: 07/06/2013 Location: AustraliaPosts: 26 |
Thanks John. Quite correct! I'll adjust the original post. Opps. No I won't. This board doesn't appear to let you Edit posts after they have been 'Read' by other members? Anyway hopefully anyone reading the instructions will keep reading down to here. |
||||
TassyJim Guru Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6102 |
That's two users who have had recent success with MM Edit on Linux. Thanks for the feedback (and the beer). I still hope to produce a native Linux version, mainly to exercise the grey matter. If you need to change the com port from the default of com7, you can change it in File/configure maximite. It is only com7 because that is what I was using at the time. Linux users should not try to 'find' the com port, just select one from the list. Although, if you have made a symbolic link to a com port before running MM Edit, the search for ports 'might' work. That is a very dubious 'might' because I had to do strange things to test for likely ports. It might also take a very long time or hang... Jim VK7JH MMedit MMBasic Help |
||||
psergiu Regular Member Joined: 09/02/2013 Location: United StatesPosts: 83 |
Hi. I just installed MMEdit & MMEdit2 on OS X with Crossover 13.1.2 (commercial version of Wine 1.6) Results: MMEdit 3.4.6 - Installs okay, locks up completely when i open the "Maximite Chat" window immediately after the MMBasic logo from the device is displayed. MMEdit2 0.9.2 - works okay, is able to "talk" with the device, has some cosmetic issues: 1) Icons missing in editor 2) Default size of "Settings" window too small, Save button is off-screen. I'm available for more tests if needed. Thanks. |
||||
TassyJim Guru Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6102 |
Can you run TeraTerm with crossover? Are you using the Windows version of MMedit2 or linux? (I don't know if OsX can run native linux) With MMedit2, can you resize the settings window? I have made it remember the size of the window in later betas but not sure where I was up to on the one I released. I expect (hope) that it's hiding the toolbar with the tabs and not failing to write it in the first place. That might be something I can fix. I have not done much work on MMedit2 since the micromite testing started because I wanted to get MMedit working reliably with the new chips. Jim VK7JH MMedit MMBasic Help |
||||
psergiu Regular Member Joined: 09/02/2013 Location: United StatesPosts: 83 |
I installed TerraTerm, it can "talk" to the Duinomite-Mega but there's a strange ~1sec delay from my typing until i get a feedback on the screen. Tried at 9600 and 57600, same delay I'm using the Windows version. There's no Linux emulation for OS X as far as i know. I can resize the settings window in MMEdit2 by the lower-right corner - there's no GUI decoration for that corner and the mouse cursor does not change - i guess that's Wine's fault. The toolbar is there, when i mouse over the button locations i see a little "raise" animation for a 3-4 pixel high area. I clicked one in the left side and i got the "Save" window. MMEdit2 zip file is unpacked in c:\Program Files\MMedit2, the Data dir is in there. The log file with default verbosity says this after opening MMEdit2: ** Mon Apr 14 17:48:43 2014 Starting '/Applications/CrossOver.app/Contents/SharedSupport/CrossOve r/bin/wineloader' 'winewrapper.exe' '--workdir' '/Volumes/psergiu/Library/Application Support/CrossOver/Bottles/MMEdit/drive_c/Program Files/MMedit2' '--start' '--' '/Volumes/psergiu/Library/Application Support/CrossOver/Bottles/MMEdit/drive_c/Program Files/MMedit2/MMEdit2.exe' fixme:exec:SHELL_execute flags ignored: 0x00000100 err:imagelist:ImageList_ReplaceIcon invalid image list fixme:ole:RemUnknown_QueryInterface No interface for iid {00000019-0000-0000-c000-000000000046} |
||||
TassyJim Guru Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6102 |
That's good information. I had trouble with TeraTerm (and MMEdit) getting the serial ports to work well. I had similar delays to those you are seeing. (I don't know much about Wine) It looks like CrossOver doesn't return the size of my toolbar. It is good that it is there even if it's too small to use. I can add a check to add a default size if the true size is not returned. I still have to do a lot with MMedit2 in the terminal screen area but I will try to get this little fix done over Easter and put a new beta out next week. Jim VK7JH MMedit MMBasic Help |
||||
Print this page |