Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 21:28 24 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : @ ADMIN Paste of code text misses chars.

Author Message
DuinoMiteMegaAn
Senior Member

Joined: 17/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 231
Posted: 02:52pm 12 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I pasted this and the "B" and "I" are missing!

120 PRINT "******************************************"
130 PRINT "* PIC32 DS3231 Time / Date Utilities *"
140 PRINT "******************************************"
150 PRINT "* [A] <-- Print PIC32 Time/Date *"
160 PRINT "* <-- Print DS3231 Time/Date/DOW *"
170 PRINT "* [C] <-- PIC32 RTC <--<<< DS3231 RTC *"
180 PRINT "* [D] <-- DST Daylight Savings Test Only *"
190 PRINT "* [E] <-- Spring FWD +1 Hr. DS3231 RTC *"
200 PRINT "* [F] <-- Fall Back -1 Hr. DS3231 RTC *"
210 PRINT "* [G] <-- DS3231 RTC <--<<< PIC32 RTC *"
220 PRINT "* [H] <-- Manual Set/Config. DS3231 RTC *"
230 PRINT "* <-- Print/Compare PIC32/DS3231 RTC *"
240 PRINT "* [J] <-- Print PIC32 DOW - Day of Week *"
250 PRINT "* [K] <-- Print PIC32 DOY - Day of Year *"
260 PRINT "* [M] <-- GoTo Main Menu *"
270 PRINT "* [Q] <-- Quit Menu *"
280 PRINT "******************************************"
 
James_From_Canb

Senior Member

Joined: 19/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 265
Posted: 04:09pm 12 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The [ B ] and [ I ] are being interpret as formatting commands (bold and italic).
But it seems to be happening even if they are embedded in the code tags, like

[ CODE ] (spaces added so you can see the start and end tags)

10 print "* etcetera "

[ /CODE ]

Not so good. And cut and paste snippets from those code blocks may be missing code.

That could also explain why some listings have underlines, weird formatting and links displayed in them.

James
My mind is aglow with whirling, transient nodes of thought careening through a cosmic vapor of invention.

Hedley Lamarr, Blazing Saddles (1974)
 
CircuitGizmos

Guru

Joined: 08/09/2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1425
Posted: 04:11pm 12 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

[ B ] gets translated to bold and [ I ] to italics.

See how everything first became bold then italicized?

I don't know if that can be turned off for the code space.
Micromites and Maximites! - Beginning Maximite
 
donmck

Guru

Joined: 09/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1313
Posted: 04:39pm 12 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

150 PRINT "* [A] <-- Print PIC32 Time/Date *"
160 PRINT "* [B] <-- Print DS3231 Time/Date/DOW *"
170 PRINT "* [C] <-- PIC32 RTC <--<<< DS3231 RTC *"

Only by turning codes off completely :-(

I can only think that you post the BASIC code in a follow up message with the formatting codes turned off. Not a good solution.

Cheers Don...Edited by donmck 2011-12-14
https://www.dontronics.com
 
Gizmo

Admin Group

Joined: 05/06/2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5078
Posted: 11:12pm 12 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I dont know of a easy solution for this. I could edit the software to ignore any [] tags between a [ CODE ] and [ /CODE ], but this means any post in the past that used formatting tags inside a code tag wont display correctly. I know there have been posts where the [ CODE ] tag was used to display tabulated data with the columns highlighted in bold. Formatting tags inside code tags can be handy, you may want to use a [ B ] tag inside a [ CODE ] tag to highlight a line of code, for example.

I think its up to the posted to reconise their code has been formatted unexpectedly, and modify the code to remove forum tags. Or as Don suggested, switch off formatting with the "Enable Forum Codes to format post" option at the bottom of the edit window.

Like I said, no easy solution, but a compromise.

Glenn

Edited by Gizmo 2011-12-14
The best time to plant a tree was twenty years ago, the second best time is right now.
JAQ
 
James_From_Canb

Senior Member

Joined: 19/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 265
Posted: 11:42pm 12 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Could you add a separate [purecode] tag that did not accept formatting? That would leave the old postings as they are, but allow new postings with 'untainted' formatting.

James
My mind is aglow with whirling, transient nodes of thought careening through a cosmic vapor of invention.

Hedley Lamarr, Blazing Saddles (1974)
 
djuqa

Guru

Joined: 23/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 447
Posted: 03:07am 13 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

[BBcode Tags] are endemic to the Internet, not just this site.

Simple solution

Edit all your BASIC code listings
Use some other characters in your code examples
i.e. [code]
'{A} RTC initialise value
'{BB} RTC Data Value
[/code]

and so on


Why make Gizmo custom hack the Forum Script for this site (Possibly breaking it and comprising updates) when the problem is a simply poor choice of characters used in REM Statements and incorrect of Code tags.
[quote=From Gizmo]I think its up to the posted to recognise their code has been formatted unexpectedly, and modify the code to remove forum tags. Or as Don suggested, switch off formatting with the "Enable Forum Codes to format post" option at the bottom of the edit window.
[/quote]


Edited by djuqa 2011-12-14
VK4MU MicroController Units

 
DuinoMiteMegaAn
Senior Member

Joined: 17/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 231
Posted: 03:14am 13 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Edit all your BASIC code listings


Make my code listings so they won't cause formatting errors?
If need be, I will bypass posting code and paste the code into a PDF.
 
djuqa

Guru

Joined: 23/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 447
Posted: 03:16am 13 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Even better still, paste into a TEXT file so they can be used directly by renaming as .BAS files.
What is this fascination with .PDF Files for Program files.Edited by djuqa 2011-12-14
VK4MU MicroController Units

 
DuinoMiteMegaAn
Senior Member

Joined: 17/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 231
Posted: 03:26am 13 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

What is this fascination with .PDF Files for Program files.


No fascination but OpenOffice is Free and to generate a PDF is a snap.
 
djuqa

Guru

Joined: 23/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 447
Posted: 03:34am 13 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Generating Text files (MM basic files) are even easier.
Edited by djuqa 2011-12-14
VK4MU MicroController Units

 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024