Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 19:45 24 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : (DM MM) Key mapping for Function keys

Author Message
bigmik

Guru

Joined: 20/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2914
Posted: 05:45am 01 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi All,

I wrote a little piece of code to test for various keys and their values

as in

10 CLS: PRINT "press any key to get its value"
20 PRINT: PRINT: PRINT"KEY Value"
30 a$=INKEY$: IF a$="" THEN GOTO 30
40 PRINT a$;" ", ASC(a$)
50 GOTO 30

But F9 doesnt return anything and F11 returns 55 instead of what I believe should be 155..(according to the sequence of F keys)

Regards Mick

PS. This is using USB console. I havent tested PS2 yet .

MickEdited by bigmik 2011-12-02
Mick's uMite Stuff can be found >>> HERE (Kindly hosted by Dontronics) <<<
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6097
Posted: 08:46am 01 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

What terminal program are you using?
With Teraterm, I get the expected results
F9 gives 153
F11 gives 155

Jim
Maximite, MMBasic V2.7B
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
bigmik

Guru

Joined: 20/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2914
Posted: 08:49am 01 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  TassyJim said   What terminal program are you using?
With Teraterm, I get the expected results
F9 gives 153
F11 gives 155

Jim
Maximite, MMBasic V2.7B


Hmm,

Ok, I am using a DuinoMite 2.7 (based on Geoffs 2.7),

I use TeraTerm so must have been a minor bug fixed in 2.7b.

Thanks

Mick


Mick's uMite Stuff can be found >>> HERE (Kindly hosted by Dontronics) <<<
 
Geoffg

Guru

Joined: 06/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 3194
Posted: 03:53pm 01 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  bigmik said  Ok, I am using a DuinoMite 2.7 (based on Geoffs 2.7),

I use TeraTerm so must have been a minor bug fixed in 2.7b.

No, nothing changed in that area.
Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net
 
bigmik

Guru

Joined: 20/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2914
Posted: 06:23pm 01 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Geoffg said  
  bigmik said  Ok, I am using a DuinoMite 2.7 (based on Geoffs 2.7),

I use TeraTerm so must have been a minor bug fixed in 2.7b.

No, nothing changed in that area.

Hmm,

Thanks Geoff,

I will run that one by Ken,

Unless TerraTerm has remapped those keys... I will check the settings and try Putty..

Hmm. Using Putty.. F9 -No response, also F11 no response so the F11 thing might be a TT setting. Still something for Ken I suspect.

Regards,

Mick
Mick's uMite Stuff can be found >>> HERE (Kindly hosted by Dontronics) <<<
 
donmck

Guru

Joined: 09/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1313
Posted: 07:00pm 01 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  bigmik said  
  Geoffg said  
  bigmik said  Ok, I am using a DuinoMite 2.7 (based on Geoffs 2.7),

I use TeraTerm so must have been a minor bug fixed in 2.7b.

No, nothing changed in that area.

Hmm,

Thanks Geoff,

I will run that one by Ken,

Unless TerraTerm has remapped those keys... I will check the settings and try Putty..

Hmm. Using Putty.. F9 -No response, also F11 no response so the F11 thing might be a TT setting. Still something for Ken I suspect.

Regards,

Mick


Just checked MM V2.7a and 2.7b, OK in VGA mode
Also checked DM V2.7a and it is OK in VGA mode

Tried MM&DM from TT and I found F9 is OK, F11 = 55

More investigation needed with TT I think.

Cheers Don...
Edited by donmck 2011-12-03
https://www.dontronics.com
 
CircuitGizmos

Guru

Joined: 08/09/2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1425
Posted: 07:56pm 01 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I just wrote a PC program to display the keyboard key codes. No routing through TT, no MMBasic stuff, just display the key code in a box.

F11 and F12 display nothing. I think that the operating system grabs them first.
Micromites and Maximites! - Beginning Maximite
 
Bryan1

Guru

Joined: 22/02/2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 1344
Posted: 08:19pm 01 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

G'day Guy's,
I spent most of yesterday and last night getting all the commands finished on that help file and today I'll setup both the SM1 and the DM and test it out on the VGA. Just need to do a bit more tweaking then I'll release the code for people to have a play with it. Now I did try for while to try and map the F1 key so it would start up the file with no luck. Basically the main 'help file' is in a folder on the SD card called help. I do feel it would be a huge bonus for when a user wants to see the help file simply pressing F1 like on all computers will bring it up.

Regards Bryan
 
donmck

Guru

Joined: 09/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1313
Posted: 09:23pm 01 Dec 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  donmck said  
Just checked MM V2.7a and 2.7b, OK in VGA mode
Also checked DM V2.7a and it is OK in VGA mode

Tried MM&DM from TT and I found F9 is OK, F11 = 55

More investigation needed with TT I think.

Cheers Don...


Got closer to the bottom of it.

In TT there is term setup >> term ID >> then a whole range of emulation modes. I tried every one of them, and although the returned code changed, it never gave the expected result. I also tried coding receive changes, but no joy.

Then I saw that you can open a new window in "TEK" mode, and bingo, correct results.

I didn't find out how to enlarge the small screen, and save the settings, but that is for another person, or another time.

Cheers Don...Edited by donmck 2011-12-03
https://www.dontronics.com
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024