Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Program stopped working.
Author | Message | ||||
Worm Newbie Joined: 30/06/2011 Location: New ZealandPosts: 38 |
I have been trying out the FRIDGE.BAS program which was working all good but now it has stopped working properly. It is still running, eg. logging data onto the SD card, but wont show any info on the screen like it used to do. I have compaired the program that is loaded into the Maximite to the one shown in Silicon chip May. They are identicle, so why has the program stopped working properly?? Can anybody tell me why this has happened? There's no such thing as a free lunch. |
||||
Keith @ Senior Member Joined: 19/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 167 |
Worm can you give a few more details for example have you rebooted (turned off and turned back on)? can you run anything else? does it show up on screen? is the screen still working plugged in ok etc Keith The more we know, the more we know we don't know ! |
||||
Worm Newbie Joined: 30/06/2011 Location: New ZealandPosts: 38 |
Thanks Keith for replying. I dont recall how it stopped working properly. What I have tried is rebooting it. Reloading a fresh copy of FRIDGE.BAS off internet. I can run other programs. I have even tried using another Maximite. What I get on the screen is the entry of the program. I then enter "run" and hit enter. This starts the program running but still showing the program on screen rather than T1 T2 T3 etc. as it used to do. To stop the program running, I use "Ctrl & C" I always enter "new" before running a program. Im stumped and dont know where to go from here. Kevin There's no such thing as a free lunch. |
||||
seco61 Senior Member Joined: 15/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 205 |
Hi, I have just had a look at the FRIDGE.BAS program (from Geoff's web site - library v1.4). The program does NOT write to the screen - it only writes to the FRIDGE.XLS file on the SD Card. So it would appear that the program is executing correctly now - if it was displaying data on the screen previously then it was not working correctly then! Regards Gerard (vk3cg/vk3grs) |
||||
Gizmo Admin Group Joined: 05/06/2004 Location: AustraliaPosts: 5078 |
Hi Kevin You said you entered "NEW" before running the program. NEW clears any program from memory, though you may still see part if it listed on the screen. Are you loading the fridge program, entering NEW, and then entering RUN? Glenn The best time to plant a tree was twenty years ago, the second best time is right now. JAQ |
||||
Worm Newbie Joined: 30/06/2011 Location: New ZealandPosts: 38 |
Thats weird then. I must be loosing my marbles or there is a different version of the FRIDGE.BAS program that both writes to the screen and SD card?? Kevin There's no such thing as a free lunch. |
||||
seco61 Senior Member Joined: 15/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 205 |
Hi. Here is a modified FRIDGE.BAS that writes to both the SD card and the screen: 100 FOR i = 1 TO 5 : SETPIN i, 1 : NEXT i 110 SETPIN 10, 2 120 OPEN "FRIDGE.XLS" FOR OUTPUT AS #1 130 PRINT #1, "DATE", "TIME", "T1", "T2", "T3", "T4", "T5", "DOOR" 140 CLOSE #1 142 CLS : PRINT " DATE"; TAB(16); "TIME"; TAB(27); "T1"; TAB(36); "T2"; TAB(45); "T3"; TAB(54); "T4"; TAB(63); "T5"; TAB(71); "DOOR" 150 DO 160 OPEN "FRIDGE.XLS" FOR APPEND AS #1 170 PRINT #1, DATE$, TIME$,; 172 LOCATE 0,12 : PRINT DATE$; TAB(14); TIME$; TAB(25); 180 FOR i = 1 TO 5 190 t = (PIN(i) / 3.3 * 3.29 - 2.73) * 100 200 PRINT #1, FORMAT$(t, "%4.1f"),; 202 PRINT FORMAT$(t, "%4.1f"); TAB((i * 9) + 25); 210 NEXT i 220 IF PIN(10) THEN 222 PRINT #1, "CLOSED" : PRINT "CLOSED" 224 ELSE 226 PRINT #1, "OPEN" : PRINT " OPEN" 228 ENDIF 230 CLOSE #1 240 PAUSE 2000 250 LOOP Before copying the code, ensure your browser window is wide enough to ensure the lines of code do not wrap. Regards Gerard (vk3cg/vk3grs) |
||||
seco61 Senior Member Joined: 15/06/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 205 |
Or if you prefer a scrolling display: 100 FOR i = 1 TO 5 : SETPIN i, 1 : NEXT i 110 SETPIN 10, 2 120 OPEN "FRIDGE.XLS" FOR OUTPUT AS #1 130 PRINT #1, "DATE", "TIME", "T1", "T2", "T3", "T4", "T5", "DOOR" 140 CLOSE #1 142 CLS : PRINT " DATE"; TAB(16); "TIME"; TAB(27); "T1"; TAB(36); "T2"; TAB(45); "T3"; TAB(54); "T4"; TAB(63); "T5"; TAB(70); " DOOR " 150 DO 160 OPEN "FRIDGE.XLS" FOR APPEND AS #1 170 PRINT #1, DATE$, TIME$,; 172 loc = loc + 12 : if loc = 432 then loc = 420 178 LOCATE 0,loc : PRINT DATE$; TAB(14); TIME$; TAB(25); 180 FOR i = 1 TO 5 190 t = (PIN(i) / 3.3 * 3.29 - 2.73) * 100 200 PRINT #1, FORMAT$(t, "%4.1f"),; 202 PRINT FORMAT$(t, "%4.1f"); TAB((i * 9) + 25); 210 NEXT i 220 IF PIN(10) THEN 222 PRINT #1, "CLOSED" : PRINT "CLOSED" 224 ELSE 226 PRINT #1, "OPEN" : PRINT " OPEN " 228 ENDIF 229 LOCATE 0,0 : PRINT " DATE"; TAB(16); "TIME"; TAB(27); "T1"; TAB(36); "T2"; TAB(45); "T3"; TAB(54); "T4"; TAB(63); "T5"; TAB(70); " DOOR " 230 CLOSE #1 240 PAUSE 2000 250 LOOP Regards Gerard (vk3cg/vk3grs) |
||||
Worm Newbie Joined: 30/06/2011 Location: New ZealandPosts: 38 |
Cool. Thanks Gerard. Just what I wanted, but strange how thats what I had before?? I must admit that I had been playing around with the program. I will look back and see what I may have done. Kevin There's no such thing as a free lunch. |
||||
Worm Newbie Joined: 30/06/2011 Location: New ZealandPosts: 38 |
For Glenn. I have learnt that it pays to always enter "new" before entering a program so that any previous program does not interfer with the new program. As a sugestion, is it possable to have a section on the forum for beginers Tips. Kevin There's no such thing as a free lunch. |
||||
Print this page |