Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Playing with ESP-01
Author | Message | ||||
Quazee137 Guru Joined: 07/08/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 567 |
I'm playing with the ESP-01 using ESPNOW. Dug out my modded ESP-01 programmer and thought I should share how I modded it. It works with Adruino IDE. I did this a while back and can't recall the web site I got most the information. When looking I did one with a button. It works but when I read about this mod I had to try it out. A few other used transistors and they too worked. This is plug and play the Arduino IDE using Esptool it just works. Other news Shoulder almost mended ribs still hurt. The throttle had lost ground when I hit the speed but sending me full speed into the 2nd speed bump and airborne. Went to many senior bike club forums and learned that it is an on going thing. I am working on a way to adj max speed and to have a slow ramp up of the throttle. So even a quick turn of the throttle can not jump fast. Having FUN it helps cut the pain if my mind is busy Quazee137 |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6761 |
[grumpy-old-git] It's far nicer when it works WITHOUT that nasty, bloated Arduino IDE! [/grumpy-old-git] Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
PhenixRising Guru Joined: 07/11/2023 Location: United KingdomPosts: 853 |
Talk about leaving me hanging I'm really interested in ESPNOW I have my ESP32s up and running but I have limited myself to just getting the Bluetooth working because it's what I need most urgently. How's the ESPNOW working out? |
||||
JanVolk Senior Member Joined: 28/01/2023 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 143 |
ESP8266, ESP01, ESP32, ESP32-C3, ESP32-S2, ESP32-S3 with Annex Basic all have ESP-NOW support. Jan. Edited 2024-11-07 07:52 by JanVolk |
||||
Quazee137 Guru Joined: 07/08/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 567 |
Jan a long while back I tested a few projects using Annex Basic. But I never know when it may turn in to sell able item. So can't us it. This current project will be sold as it is a one time only unit. I find its a tool I can use with all the boards/libraries it is a PITA like Python, Pascal and many others. I can get the job done I'll use it. When there is a ton of libraries to read through just to find the one you need can take up more time than coding the project. PhenixRising When I get some time to do code not related to this project I'll post something I hope can be useful. I have a lot of ESP modules from a few projects when I did the PCB and someone else did the code. I never saw the code or I'd have backed it up. Have FUN Quazee137 Edited 2024-11-07 16:19 by Quazee137 |
||||
PhenixRising Guru Joined: 07/11/2023 Location: United KingdomPosts: 853 |
Same here. Technically, one could provide the ESP and have the end-user download and install Annex32 but that would be messy. Yup. I have gotten to grips with it and am amazed at how quickly and easily I can get something up and running. |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4213 |
Hi Gents, According to the Annex forum, there have been essential bug fixes in Annex 1.52.8 to make ESP-NOW work correctly. Since the 8266 latest is 1.50, that software may not have the required fixes. You probably have to use ESP32 for Annex to correctly use ESP-NOW. Even on ESP32 there are complaints of ESP-NOW working slow on Annex. That could be because they are developping, and running ESP-NOW at the same time. The development environment (editor) requires HTML and contact to a router/PC, where ESP-NOW does not (it even changes MAC address). Another complexity is that your router may decide to use a different 2.4GHz channel. And for Annex to work with ESP-NOW the WIFI channel of the router, and ESP-NOW must be the same. Once the development is done that is not an issue anymore, but diring evelopment it will be. Maybe you should look at C-code (Arduino) if you want fast response ESP-NOW. Then you can do without the upper 5 OSI layers, and operation/development will be much faster. Have fun developing, Volhout Edited 2024-11-07 17:10 by Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
PhenixRising Guru Joined: 07/11/2023 Location: United KingdomPosts: 853 |
Maybe you should look at C-code (Arduino) if you want fast response ESP-NOW. Then you can do without the upper 5 OSI layers, and operation/development will be much faster. Agreed. Seems to me that the classic ESP32 can provide: Bluetooth Classic BLE WiFi ESPNOW Ethernet LoRa Mesh to our Mites(?) |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6761 |
So? Put a suitable serial port handler in one (could be COM, I2C or SPI) to allow it to be controlled and handle data communication to a Pico running MMBasic. Then produce Library functions to handle it from MMBasic programs. Slap one on a board next to any standard PicoMite and Bob's yer uncle. Simples! ;) Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4213 |
Hi Mick, Completely off-topic. Do you know of a serial wireless chip/module that can be used in a mesh system. If one talks, all others receive. No Master/Slave, all are identical, all listen, all can talk. When 2 talks at same time, messages get lost (so be it). No pairing, just plain transparent. Volhout Edited 2024-11-07 19:00 by Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
PhenixRising Guru Joined: 07/11/2023 Location: United KingdomPosts: 853 |
Completely off-topic. Do you know of a serial wireless chip/module that can be used in a mesh system. If one talks, all others receive. No Master/Slave, all are identical, all listen, all can talk. When 2 talks at same time, messages get lost (so be it). No pairing, just plain transparent. Volhout That's what ESPNOW can do |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4213 |
Hi Phenix, I have no ESP-NOW experience, but if I read the documentation, I think it works sending data from one MAC address to another MAC address. I have no idea if it can do broadcast mode or UDP. Appart from that I would prefer to avoid 2.4GHz. Volhout P.S. in the end I would add individual adressability, but I would like to handle that in MMBasic (under my own control). First phase would be transparent mesh. Edited 2024-11-07 20:29 by Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6761 |
nRF24L01 does it in hardware, but it's a complex beastie. :) SPI interface. Supported in Arduino libraries but not in MMBasic. :( Each one can link to 6 further nodes via individually configured pipes. Does not use any external router or connect to the internet. It's a closed network so it's pretty secure. Cheap. :) There's a socket for it on one of the MMBasic boards. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
PhenixRising Guru Joined: 07/11/2023 Location: United KingdomPosts: 853 |
Hi Harm. 2.4GHz: Dunno; I have Bluetooth talking to machines in a shop full of WiFi, mobile phones and other Bluetooth devices since 2012. Never had a wireless glitch. I think it's a matter of selecting the right channel for ESP-NOW. This the ANNEX32 help page |
||||
lizby Guru Joined: 17/05/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 3150 |
Annex can broadcast ESP-Now--it makes it easy to broadcast with a message ID, and only the receiver having that ID responds or takes the requested action. I would assume that an ESP device using ESP-Now with C could do the same. The mac address for broadcast is "FF:FF:FF:FF:FF:FF". Since Annex can do UDP, I'd assume that ESP-Now with C could also. Edited 2024-11-08 02:44 by lizby PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed |
||||
Quazee137 Guru Joined: 07/08/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 567 |
Here is two youtube videos both work with ESP32. button and led flame and beeper I have a lot of ESP-01 and ESP8285MOD the ESP-M3. So I'm playing with these. The the libraries is the PITA part. for ESP8266 use #include <espnow.h> // WITH OUT underline "" for ESP32 use #include <esp_now.h> // WITH underline "" One can't just make that include change. Any ref to the library needs to be be worked out which is where I am ATM. I do have a lot of ESP32's but over kill for this project. So back to reading and comparing the functions till I get how it all works. Have FUN Quazee137 |
||||
PhenixRising Guru Joined: 07/11/2023 Location: United KingdomPosts: 853 |
Great Scott Range Test and Walkie Talkie (ESPNOW) |
||||
Print this page |