Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 09:09 22 Nov 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : New toy - Lolin V3 Node MCU with ESP8266 BASIC

     Page 2 of 2    
Author Message
lizby
Guru

Joined: 17/05/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3150
Posted: 02:10pm 04 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Mixtel90 said  check just how many of the GPIO pins are usable for your project before buying


The ESP32-C3SuperMini has 13 available I/O pins, most (all?) of which can do anything the others can do. The other three in the 16-pin module are 5V, 0V, and 3V3.

If you need more pins, the ESP32-S2Mini has 2 more rows of 8 pins, a few of which are not I/O pins. The outer rows of the S2Mini are pin-for-pin compatible with the ESP8266 D1Mini, so they can be stacked with D1Mini auxiliary modules like DS18B20, OLED, SD Card, etc.
PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6761
Posted: 02:29pm 04 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The TX and RX pins may be fixed. Possibly usable as digital IO, but with TX as output only and RX as input only. I'm only guessing and might be wrong. I've not investigated further.

manual.pdf
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
lizby
Guru

Joined: 17/05/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3150
Posted: 03:23pm 04 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Mixtel90 said  I'm only guessing and might be wrong.


You're right about being wrong. On the ESP32-C3SuperMini, any pair of pins can be serial, and either of the two can be either Rx or Tx. Any pair of pins can be I2C, and either can be SDA or SCK. A program can as it's running switch from one pair of I2C pins to another, so that for I2C modules which have, say, 4 possible address settings, you can put 4 on each I2C pair--I've used that to read from 5 INA226 current monitors. You might be able to control multiple I2C OLEDs--I haven't tried that.

One restriction is that there are only 2 serial lines at a time, and it's recommended that for connecting with other devices, serial2 be used so that console messages don't interfere. But if you wanted a call-and-response interaction via serial, instead of using multi-drop you could set up serial2 in sequence with different pins, send your message and get a response (or time out) before moving to the next device in a round-robin cycle.
PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4213
Posted: 08:11pm 04 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Well, it took me something like 45 minutes to go through my pile of parts to find an old ESP-WROOM-32 development board. I knew I had one somewhere. From a failed project 2 years ago.

The ONLINE flasher worked perfect, and now I can CRTL-SHFT-F1/F2/F3.
This makes the entry a lot easier. The test code I wrote for the 8266 worked identical after I changed the GPIO pins (used D0 before, but this is connected to the 2102 on ESP32).

I am still puzzled why people always go for the smallest boards. IF you really want your project to fit in a sugar cube, okay. But until the final iteration of your project, you are better of with a bigger PCB.

Volhout
Edited 2024-11-05 06:14 by Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
JanVolk
Senior Member

Joined: 28/01/2023
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 143
Posted: 08:44pm 04 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Harm,

Also take a look on the cicciocb forum for the test code for a sine wave generator for the two DAC outputs on a standard ESP32. Looks great on a scope.

Jan.
 
lizby
Guru

Joined: 17/05/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3150
Posted: 11:37pm 04 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Volhout said  I am still puzzled why people always go for the smallest boards.


For my wifi (IOT) projects around the house, the 16 pins on the C3SuperMini are about perfect--more, actually, than I have ever needed. Other than on a PCB trying to exercise as many as possible of the "36-in-one" sensor modules, I've never come close to using the available pins on the PicoMite.
PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4213
Posted: 08:45am 05 Nov 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  lizby said  
  Volhout said  I am still puzzled why people always go for the smallest boards.


For my wifi (IOT) projects around the house, the 16 pins on the C3SuperMini are about perfect--more, actually, than I have ever needed. Other than on a PCB trying to exercise as many as possible of the "36-in-one" sensor modules, I've never come close to using the available pins on the PicoMite.


Hi Lizby,

My main development platform is a Pico (2040) VGA setup, and I constantly run out of pins. There are only 10 left in the VGA platform (GP0,1,2,3,4,5,22,26,27,28).

Volhout
Edited 2024-11-05 18:45 by Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
     Page 2 of 2    
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024