Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
|
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PicoGAME 2.0
Page 2 of 2 | |||||
Author | Message | ||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9100 |
If it is worth doing, it is easy for the firmware to tell if a PS2 keyboard (or a USB keyboard) has initialised and this could be available via mm.info. However, the firmware can't tell if a PS2 keyboard has been subsequently removed (although that seems a fairly unlikely scenario) Edited 2024-09-23 20:38 by matherp |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4221 |
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4221 |
@Peter, I do not think it is a bad thing the ask the player to press a button on the controller he actually wants to use. Especially when there is a choice. Keyboard, ot NES, or WII. @Tom In your source code you say there is no "key up" detect on PS2. However, there is a key specific code when a key is released when reading mm.info(ps2). Maybe that can also be used as "key up" code. That code however remains the same until a new key is pressed, so when reading it this code repeats until a new key is pressed). Volhout Edited 2024-09-23 20:48 by Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4035 |
Nope, you misread my comment: ' Note that when using INKEY$ (as opposed to the CMM2 'KEYDOWN' function or ' the PicoMiteVGA 'ON PS2' command) to read the keyboard we cannot detect ' keyup events and instead automatically clear a byte after it is read. The comment says there is no "key up" for INKEY$. I think that sounds like a good idea. Also I personally don't think you should be concerned about the behaviour if the user is doing the "Hokey Cokey" with either keyboards or controllers. If they insist on plugging/unplugging whilst a £10 computer is running then that is their malfunction not the firmware's. Best wishes, Tom Edited 2024-09-23 21:06 by thwill Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9100 |
Unless you can tell me different, the changes needed to a 5.07.04 program to run on 6.00.00 are minimal: not using new reserved words as variable names and a proper separation and definition of SPRITE and BLIT (which should have been done before). There has been a necessary minor hiatus while I have brought all of the source code for all variants together. The concept of freezing the RP2040 doesn't work. You will want bugs fixed and you will want enhancements where they make sense (e.g. reporting PS2 status as I proposed above, new math commands etc.) in which case I want a single source. I do understand though that the diversity of versions is an issue (not least for me) but they meet different use-cases: web/none-web; usb host/usb CDC; TFT display/monitor. FWIW I think the USB host/HDMI/PICO2 should now be the default games machine. This can use one of the cheap car monitors as per your "rig" and the assumption should be a basic USB controller would be available as an input device with 12 buttons but no analogue joysticks. My USB host motherboard PCBs are on route from China ready for testing and Mick has designed a board that uses readily available modules to achieve the same thing. I'll include an OPTION RESET configuration for both when tested and working. |
||||
thwill Guru Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4035 |
Are the id's for BLIT and SPRITE separate pools? ... they are on MMB4L (at least when simulating the CMM2/PicoMite) but I was looking at the CMM2 source during the weekend and thought I saw indications that they were the same pool. I agree with regards the USB host, though I'm not prepared to give up on my RP2040's yet. Note however that there may be a wrinkle to sort out with the generic 12-button USB controllers; @Mixtel90 has one where the D-pad is not reading as button presses but instead as the left-analog stick pushed to its maximum extent. If/when I escape MMB4L I will do some testing of my own. Best wishes, Tom Edited 2024-09-23 21:29 by thwill Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
Martin H. Guru Joined: 04/06/2022 Location: GermanyPosts: 1113 |
Dont blame it on us Blit and sprite commands were “automatically” exchanged depending on which version (VGA or not) was used. but it is also no great effort to adapt your source texts once, similar to renaming the map array, if used. Cheers Martin 'no comment |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9100 |
No, it's entirely my doing but it had its origins in the limited number of command slots. The change to 16-bit command tokens gave the option to finally sort it out. Sprites are "sprites", BLIT is a sophisticated memory copy |
||||
Martin H. Guru Joined: 04/06/2022 Location: GermanyPosts: 1113 |
The Pico 2 runs without any problems with the VGA firmware in the board. I still have a some PicoGAME 2.0 circuit boards here and would like to reuse them. I'm just thinking that it, with a little re-soldering , wouldn't be too much trouble to fit them as HDMI. The SD connections GP12 and 13 would have to be moved to the (then) free connections GP20 and 21. Audio, PS2 keyboard and game controller connections could remain as they are in the circuit diagram. The contacts from GP 12 to GP19 could then be wired to the DVI/HDMI breakout board. Am I wrong in my thinking? Cheers Martin 'no comment |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6768 |
That sounds like a fun project. :) I suspect it'll work, but maybe not in widescreen mode. A bit of PCB hacking adds spice to life. :) Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
Sasquatch Guru Joined: 08/05/2020 Location: United StatesPosts: 362 |
You may find these useful: https://www.adafruit.com/product/5957 There is an open source version available but it uses 0402 SMD resistors. Those are sure to add some excitement to your life! The open source version is available on GitHub: https://github.com/Wren6991/Pico-DVI-Sock - Edited 2024-10-01 02:17 by Sasquatch -Carl |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4221 |
Martin, The PicoGame is a nice platform. The 2 DB9 connectors are a firm way to connect controllers and other circuits (I made an interface for the SSTV fitting on the DB9). When you connect the DVI Sock, the HDMI connector is right over the SD card connector. Not very pretty, but practical. Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
Martin H. Guru Joined: 04/06/2022 Location: GermanyPosts: 1113 |
Volhout I plan to place the HDMI connection at the position of the VGA socket. 4 of the 8 required lines (GP16 to GP19) are already there if I use wire jumpers instead of R11 and R13. The VGA circuit will not be assembled as it is not used in this case. I will separate the traces of GP12 and GP13 (as they are originally routed to the SD card) and route them together with the contacts of GP14 and GP15 to the DVI output using wire.Finally, GP20 and GP21 must be routed to the SD card. The rest of the board can be set up unchanged. I have to order the transistors for the PS2 level shifters,but these are not required for the first attempts. Otherwise I should have everything I need here. Let's see how long I need this time, my eyes don't get any better with age. Cheers Martin 'no comment |
||||
Volhout Guru Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4221 |
Mick may make this change for you if you ask him. A set of 10x10cm pcbs is not very expensive Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
Martin H. Guru Joined: 04/06/2022 Location: GermanyPosts: 1113 |
A set of 10x10cm pcbs is not very expensive Volhout 'no comment |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6768 |
I'm all in favour of attempting to use up existing boards. After all, they are incredibly expensive. ;) I'm wondering... Would anyone be interested in a combination board? One that's basically a DVI / USB system but with Port A fitted? Still in the same box if possible. It's rather like Gamma but with the I2C socket changed for Port A. I think there may be enough GPIO. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9100 |
Mick Thanks for the controller which I have sorted. RC3 on the main thread will have support so please check with your other device. Should be supported on any USB variant RP2040 and RP2350 Edited 2024-10-01 22:32 by matherp |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6768 |
Excellent, thanks Peter. :) Much appreciated. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
matherp Guru Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 9100 |
PM me your address and I'll send the controller back (if it ever stops raining so I can get to the post office ) |
||||
Mixtel90 Guru Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 6768 |
Just tested it. It works beautifully. :) Thanks. :) We had almost continuous rain yesterday. Only a few spits and spots so far today, but it doesn't look too good. Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
Page 2 of 2 |
Print this page |